Review: 1984 by George Orwell

Image result for 1984 signet classicsTITLE: 1984
AUTHOR: George Orwell
RATING: #IDontKnowYet #IMayNeverKnow
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: 1984 follows Winston Smith who lives in a totalitarian society where Big Brother sees all, hears all, and knows all.

1984 by George Orwell is one of those books that has so many pop culture references in everything you watch, and its one of those classics that everyone seems to like, making it a daunting task to read it. I was afraid I wasn’t going to like it, and to be honest I still don’t know how to feel about it, but I know I didn’t hate it.

More than a dystopian future where Big Brother rules, it’s about the psychology of the party and how they gain and maintain their power. Everything in this society is in function to keep Big Brother in power, everything! Because of this it kept me wondering about Winston’s character and his actions constantly, I was worried for him. I thought he would get caught any moment. In some ways it caused me anxiety because I didn’t know what would happen next.

Not only is the psychology interesting, but the society as a whole was interesting. I was hooked on this book the moment there were posters that read “Ignorance is strength. War is peace. Freedom is slavery.” Because it makes no sense when you first look at it, but by the end Orwell makes sure you understand. The people in story are boring insipid individuals with no personality, which reminds me of the colorless world of The Giver.

The story doesn’t get interesting until Winston meets Julia and become accomplices to rebel against the party in their own way. I won’t get much into this part of the story, because spoilers, but I found it to be one of the most interesting parts of the story.

In the end I enjoyed the story. It’s not at all what I expected, it has its boring parts, and the ending is somewhat questionable and a little anti climatic (not getting into it because spoilers), but it is interesting. And finally, I understand what people mean by 2 + 2 = 5.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: 1984 by George Orwell

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Books from 2016 | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

