Review: Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Image result for please ignore vera dietzTITLE: Please Ignore Vera Dietz
AUTHOR: A. S. King
RATING: 4/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Told in different points of view we follow Vera Dietz’s about overcoming the loss of her best friend, Charlie Khan, and her involvement the night he died.

For a while now I’ve been meaning to read an A. S. King book partly because booktuber, Ariel Biset,  has recommended her novels so many times. After years of listening to her rave about her books I decided to finally pick up Please Ignore Vera Dietz, and I enjoyed it a lot.

What I love most about this book is that everyone’s personality shines through. I can hear Vera’s voice when she is telling the story. I can hear her dad’s anguish. I can even hear the Pagoda speaking to me. Their voices were captivating. I loved that about this, and it’s the main reason I kept reading.

Which brings me to the second reason I liked the book; it flows. I can’t quite explain this “flowibility” (yes I know that’s not really a word), but I like books that have this. I like reading books and losing count of how many pages I’ve read or how much time has passed since I picked up the book. PIVD does that, I read about 150 pages in a single sitting, which I barely do unless I’m stuck in an airplane for 10 hours (and that’s even rarer).  Anyways, this book has 100% “flowibility”.

Another thing that I liked about the book is the story itself. Yes, it’s a repetitive storyline about a teenage losing someone they loved, but Vera’s story is also about her relationship to her dad and friendship. There aren’t many, if any, YA books where I can say, “I love reading about the dad.” Her dad, Ken, was a pleasant surprise and added to the story. Moreover, I also loved reading about her relationship with Charlie as a kid. You could really see how their friendship developed through the years and how despite choosing different lives in high school, they always came back to each other. In this way I found their friendship very realistic because who doesn’t have that friend that you always go back to even if years have passed since the last time you saw them? Anyway, their friendship was also this borderline platonic love, and it was beautiful because it was sincere and never amounted to anything more than that.

If there was one thing I didn’t enjoy as much was how Vera kept coming back to her mother’s past. I understand it is a big part of who Vera is and, more importantly, the person she wants to become, but after couple of chapters it got boring, repetitive, and annoying. Besides this small bit, I do recommend the book.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

