Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

TITLE: City of AshesImage result for city of ashes
AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare
RATING: 3/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY:  Clary now has to pick up the pieces of her new life and deal with a couple of facts; Jase is her brother, her mother is in a magical coma, and her father is evil

Several months later…

I finally finished City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare. As many of you probably already know, this is the second book in the Mortal Instrument Series. I liked the book just as much as I liked the first book. That means I didn’t hate it. I read the whole book through. Most importantly, I will be buying the third book because I want to continue reading the series. With all of that said I didn’t completely love the book, and I hate myself for that because I know a lot of people who love it and I want to love and fangirl along with them. So let’s start with what I didn’t like about it.

My main problem with the book is that it Clare’s writing doesn’t “flow” enough for me. As I explained previously on my Please Ignore Vera Dietz book review, “flowibility” is important for me to like the book. With City of Ashes I kept stumbling over words and phrases and kept having to go back and re-read paragraphs. The same thing happened to me with City of Bones I think it’s because it’s a heavy action packed, but even in the quiet parts I felt myself stopping.

Image result for city of ashesNow let’s talk about Simon. I’m sure this is an unpopular opinion, but I don’t really like Simon (don’t kill me). I like his snarky and sarcastic comebacks, but that’s the only thing I really like about him. I think he’s pretty annoying most of the time. He doesn’t fit in as well as the other characters in the story. It also annoys me that Clary is using him so she can deny the feelings she has for Jace. For the most part I don’t like people using other people to forget a person you really love, because you’re not only hurting yourself, you’re also hurting that person you’re using. Don’t use others for selfish reasons(and that’s this week’s PSA). With that said I did start to like his character more towards the end of the book. If you want to know why and you’re not afraid of spoilers go to the spoiler section of this post.

Now on to the things I enjoyed. I really liked some of the dialogue because the characters are really funny and sarcastic. It’s with these dialogues the characters really shine through like Jace and Simon. It’s here we can see their fun relationship like the Lightwood’s typical sibling banter, which I love because we don’t get to see them act like teenagers. Their personalities feel real typical teenagers to me, which (in my opinion) is hard to do in a world that’s so influenced by the supernatural and problems normal teenagers don’t really have to face.

Another thing I noticed more in this book than in City of Bones, was how clearly I could see some parts play out like a movie. The way Cassandra Clare writes a cuts scenes and jumps to another scene should make me mad, but it didn’t, it kept me intrigued and kept me reading because I needed to know what happened next. It felt like I was watching a movie or a show instead of reading a book.

I think one of the reason I’ve enjoyed the book series so much is because it reminds me a lot of Buffy, The Vampire Slayer. If you’ve seen the show, then you should know what I’m talking about, if you haven’t seen it go watch it on Netflix (and don’t mind the bad 90s special effects or fashion). The Mortal Instruments series reminds me a lot of Buffy. It has Jace reminds me of sulking and moody Angel. Simon is such a Xander especially when he’s put in the friendzone. And Buffy would be a Nephilim or maybe Isabelle. Hodge even reminds me a lot of Giles because they both act like father figures to these kids and practically lives in the library (except Giles is not cursed and is so much better than Hodge)

WARNING SPOILERS BELOW

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

I WARNED YOU

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

I don’t know if watching Game of Thrones has warped my head, but the incest storyline between Clary and Jace didn’t bug as much as it should. I should have been screaming and yelling, “Say no to this! Clary go to Simon who is not your brother!” But, I didn’t. I actually wanted her to be with Jace. I wanted her to run away with him, when he offered. I ship Jace and Clary and I don’t feel bad about it, but maybe I don’t feel too bad because I know that some way some how, they are not siblings. However, like I read in another review it doesn’t matter because at the end of the day Clary and Jace don’t know that… yet.

I know I just said that Simon annoys me, but he stopped annoying me when Jace let him drink his blood. I think it’s a bonding moment between them, and they really needed it because they can’t continue to bicker and fight in the remaining four books if they are going to continue being part of the story. Another shining moment for Simon is when he decides to break up with Clary, because at least one of them has common sense and realizes that it’s not working.

UPDATE: I have finished City of Glass and I will post a review as soon as I can. I will start reading Clockwork Angel soon as I wait for City of Fallen Angels to come in the mail.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

