Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

TITLE: Landline Image result for landline by rainbow rowell
AUTHOR: Rainbow Rowell
RATING: 4/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: When Georgie Grafton (née McCool) decides to stay home to work on her new show, her husband and girls leave to spend Christmas in Nebraska, and she finds herself with a magical yellow phone that connect to the past.
WARNING: Harry Potter, Doctor Who, and Lost references

If you haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell book yet, I suggest you go to your nearest bookstore or amazon and buy all of her books at once. Trust me you won’t regret it.

Here’s the thing about Rainbow Rowell; her characters are flawless! They are always my favorite part of her books. She could write a whole book without a real plot and I guaranty that I will love it. In Landline I loved Georgie’s unconventional family, starting with her mom who for some reason I loved. I loved her sister Heather, I even loved the pugs, and wish we could have seen more of Kendrick because I’m pretty sure he’s awesome too. Neal was impossible not to love, and I feel like I’ve met Georgie’s girls before in real life (especially Noomi).

I guess one can say that the plot was a bit predictable and not the best part of the novel, but who cares when you have amazingly developed characters like Rowell’s? Like I mentioned before, I read Rowell’s books primarily for the characters that are so realistic and not necessarily for a masterful plot driven book about murder. Personally, I liked the conversations Georgie had with the past Neal and going back in time to see how they met. It almost felt I was watching a romantic comedy while I read the book (and I’m sure Georgie is very happy about that.)

So far I have read four of her books (I’m missing Carry On) and I’ve loved them all. With that said, Landline is not my favorite but it is still very good Rowell quality storytelling. The characters are rich. It is funny, it is witty, it even has its heart wrenching moments and not to mention some character surprises (as usual). However, I didn’t connect to these characters as much as I’ve done with her other novels and I think that’s why I didn’t love it as much.

Anyways, like I said before, get all her books and feel no shame because I guarantee you will love each and every one of her stories.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

