Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Image result for ugly loveTITLE: Ugly Love
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
RATING: 5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Neighbors, Miles and Tate, agree to a friends with benefits deal when they find themselves with busy lives that makes sustaining a relationship impossible.
WARNING: this book has sex scenes, they’re not super graphic or detailed but they are definitely steamy enough to need a warning.

I don’t know where to start with this book except that I loved reading it. I loved reading it so much that I read it in one day. YES, ONE DAY! It’s the first book, in a while that I found myself unable to put down even after hours of reading, and every time someone interrupted me I would get mad because I wanted to keep reading. So let’s get started!

First of all, I was surprised at how emotionally invested I became with everyone (except that douchy guy in the beginning) and all their relationships. I usually put all my marbles in one couple and that’s it; I stop caring about everyone else and any relationships they have besides that. With Ugly Love I found myself caring about Tate and Miles but I cared just as much about Miles and Rachel. I was expecting to hate Rachel just because she was there before Tate and because I knew she made Miles suffer, but I never hated her. I was just as giddy about Miles and Rachel as I was about Miles and Tate, thank god this wasn’t a love triangle because I wouldn’t know who to choose!

Speaking of Miles’s relationships, he was one of my favorite characters because I couldn’t understand how he got from Point A to Point B. When we first meet him from Tate’s point of view he is very cold, closed and shut off but, then we meet him in his past and he’s a completely different person. He’s not cold, he’s not closed, he’s not hiding away from the world. It’s this huge difference in character that truly intrigued me. He also has some of the most heartbreaking scenes in the entire novel, so I have a lot of sympathy for him.

Although, there is a lot of sex in the story, and their relationship starts that way, it’s not just about that. There is a story behind all this action (pun not intended). For Miles its about learning to love again. For Tate it’s about learning that you can’t separate your feelings.

I did love the story, I loved it a lot. I want to read more Colleen Hoover books because of this book, but there are a couple of things that bothered me. For one Miles’s backstory was at times corny, and at other times very cliché, but I can live with that. I wish we could have seen more of their lives away from home. I would have liked seeing more of Tate at work or at school, because we know she’s busy but we never really get to see it. I would have loved seeing more of Ian and Corbin hanging out with Miles because those were some of the funniest scenes in the book.

Tate’s character also bothered me quite a bit because she reduced herself to nothing. She wants to love him, and wants him to reciprocate but when he can’t find it in him to love her back, that’s when her character annoys me. There’s a specific scene when she says “he came to give what little he could to me, and I would take what I could get,” even if it’s not enough for her. She had no self-respect in that moment and it aggravates me when I see people like that. I don’t expect every female protagonist to be a kick ass crime fighting character like Katniss Everdeen or Tris Prior, but at least have some dignity!

Although I loved reading the book and read it in one day, I can’t give it a full five starts because of these small things that bothered me as I read it. I’m giving it a 4.8 out of 5 stars.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: April Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books from 2016 | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

