Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

TITLE: The Moon and More
AUTHOR: Sarah Dessen
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: In the summer before college, Emaline prepares to say goodbye to her small beach town and her family.
RATING: 3/5

Let’s start with a little story. Years ago I picked up my first Sarah Dessen novel, Along for the Ride, and I absolutely loved it. Sure, there’s not much to plot but I connected with Auden, the protagonist and I fell in love with her story. Afterwards, I wanted more Sarah Dessen novels, but for whatever reason I didn’t read any more of them. Then one day I went to Wal Mart and I saw this book and decided to buy it hoping I would love it just as much.

With that said, I didn’t really like The Moon and More. It was an okay story, but at the end of the day I didn’t fell in love with any of the characters. They had their things and I appreciated them, but it never kept me interested as much as Along for the Ride did. To me, it was a disappointment. So the moral of the story is: don’t ever compare books, not even if they’re written by the same author. Just because one book was good doesn’t mean the other one will be the same way.

Now onto characters. I thought I would like Theo in the beginning but just like in real life, first impressions can be deceiving. Looking back I didn’t even feel the butterflies when she first met Theo or when they went on their dates later on. Okay, to be honest I stopped liking him when she said he had girl jeans on (sorry, not my type of thing).  I did like some of the side characters like Clyde and I think that’s because he was in Along for the Ride. I also never understood Emaline’s father’s actions and why he acted that way.

I will say that it is realistic in it’s portrayals of characters and their personalities and just life in general. It’s a very normal story and maybe that’s it’s downfall because it has nothing truly out of the ordinary.

I give this novel a solid 3 stars, because it’s a solid good-enough book. It’s not amazeballs like I hoped, but it’s decent enough to pass the time.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Leave a Reply

