Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

Image result for confess colleen hooverTITLE: Confess
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
RATING: 4.5 / 5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Auburn meets Owen, an artist, who paints other people’s confessions and has a couple of secrets of his own.

I said this the last time I read a Colleen Hoover book, and now I will say it again. I don’t know where to start, but I absolutely loved the book. There’s something about her books that makes it easy to read and enjoy the book. I was in huge reading slump (I was about to end the month without finishing a single book) and then I randomly picked her book from my physical TBR pile, and then BAM! Reading heaven.

I wasn’t invested in the story until I got to the 3rd chapter where we finally see Owen’s point of view. He confesses (see what I did there?) that they met before their official first meeting, so obviously I was instantly engaged and it hurt to put the book every time I had to return to the real world. When I read Ugly Love I read it to find out Miles’ past, but I read Confess for their relationship. I loved seeing how they met and their interactions around each other. What messed me up (in a good way) is that by the end of the book I realized they’ve only seen each other for days, not even months, but they clicked so well that it feels like they’ve known each other for so much longer than that. I kept forgetting they just met. They were just amazing and a lot less corny than the last (and only) Hoover book I’ve read so far.

One of my favorite aspects of the book is the art. I think it’s because I also like drawing as a hobby. It’s what initially intrigued me about the novel. When I finally had 403010158438a1c59a976d9fd612b9b1the book in my hands the first thing I noticed what the artwork in glossy paper. They are beautiful and I love that we could actually see them instead of imagining what they would look like. If I could, I would buy bigger prints of Owen’s artwork and hang them up in my walls.

Anyways… None of the characters truly bothered me. Nope not even the bad guys (hate the antagonists but I realize there are people like that in real life). I loved Auburn and I couldn’t fault her behavior in any moment because I could understand why she was doing what she was doing. It made sense to me even if it sucked completely. Her roommate is awesome even if she’s a bit crazy and nosy. I even loved Owen with all his faults.

The only thing that bothered me a little was the way hoover writes Owen makes him sound too lovey-dovey. I’m the first to admit that I have no idea what a guy’s mind sounds like, so I’m willing to give Hoover reason of doubt. I also had a minor problem with the amount of faith Owen has in Auburn. At first it didn’t bother me until I realized they barely knew each other. He’s met her 4 maybe 5 times in the book and he feels that’s enough to tell her “You are a great mom.” Owen is almost too perfect, but I still love him and I believe him because of all the crappy things he’s gone through.

However, none of that matter because all you need to know is that this book is great! Read it! Because I can honestly say Colleen Hoover is becoming one of my favorite authors.

SPOILERS BELOW

SPOILERS  BELOW

tumblr_inline_obg8s8uvw81snpjdu_500

THIS IS THE LAST WARNING

SPOILERS BELOW

I WARNED YOU

SPOILERS BELOW

timthumbI didn’t particularly love the ending because it feels like there are lose ends. The last chapter of the book is about how Owen started to paint. We discover that he started painting thanks to Adam, and that in a weird way Adam gave them their blessing. I think that this not only makes the novel come full circle but it makes the story beautiful in a heart wrenching sort of way. I loved that Adam wasn’t selfish, that even at 15 he knew that Auburn would someday find love. I also find it weird that Auburn has Owen’s very first painting without knowing it. It’s weird but at the same time it’s like they were meant to be together all this time.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: NEWS: Adaptations and Deleted Scenes | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

