Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

TITLE: HopelessImage result for hopeless by colleen hoover
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Sky attends high school after a lifetime of homeschooling, where she meets the temperamental and moody Dean Holder.
RATING: 4 / 5

This is my 3rd Colleen Hoover book and I still can’t say anything super bad about her books! Ugh they are soooooo good and each time I read one of her novels I just want to read more of them. Not only that, but she’s quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Just go and read her books, you will not be disappointed.

From the very beginning I could tell this was very different from other Hoover books I’ve read. (Granted, that’s only been two but still!) For starters, it’s only one perspective and it’s from a 17 year old girl instead of the 20-something-year-old. The way this girl lives is also very different from Hoover’s other characters because of her closed upbringing and her promiscuous behavior. The beginning is sort of slow but and at times frustrating because of the characters, but I swear you won’t be able to put the book down when you get to the last 200 pages of the story.

One of the things I liked about this book is that the relationship between Sky and Dean doesn’t begin on the best of terms, however I also find it sort of frustrating. It does take them a while to figure out how to be a couple, and I like that because it’s not about the world keeping them apart but simply how to be around each other. However, I will say I had problems with Dean in the beginning because he was so aggressive without reason, but he got better along the way. (I know, this whole paragraph makes me look like a walking contradiction.)

This review is so hard to write because there is so much I want to talk about and so many spoilers. If you read it, or you’re fine with spoilers scroll down! If you’re not okay with spoilers READ THE BOOK then come back and read the rest.

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

I WARNED YOU

SPOILERS

THIS IS YOUR LAST WARNING

SPOILERS

SERIOUSLY THIS IS YOUR LAST WARNING

SPOILERS BELOW

SPOILERS ARE HERE

I called it! I knew she was raped at some point in her life the moment she said she liked the numb feeling she got when someone kissed her. I knew it! I knew it! I knew it! What I didn’t expect to find out was that Sky was not only kidnapped but she was kidnaped by her own aunt. Or how about the disgusting fact that her father molested his sister (AKA Susan) and Leslie when they were younger? My mind was blown away when I found out Sky knew Dean and Leslie from before. Then there was way too intense scene when he kills himself right in front of them! I was completely shocked and the last 150 pages of the book left me with my mouth open.

The entire book gave me the same mood / feeling as the movie Ask Me Anything starring Britt Robertson. It’s the same quirky light hearted fun in the beginning and then it takes a fast dark turn to childhood traumas. I was not expecting neither story to go where it went. Maybe I’ve grown sensitive or maybe it was just my mood, but it’s the first book that I found myself having to put down when things got darker. I was in the last 50 pages and I had to put it down for a day before I could pick it back up. It’s not that it was bad I just found it disgusting/ dark/ intense/ too much for me to handle.

It was so good that I impulsively bought Losing Hope, a story told from Holder’s point of view. Yup, I can’t wait to feel all those Hoover feels all over again.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover (Hopeless #2) – Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

