Why I’m Giving Up on Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King

Sometimes you’re reading a book and maybe it’s the wrong time to read it, or maybe it’s not for your, or maybe it’s just plain bad. The latter is not the case, but I am temporarily (or not temporarily) giving up on Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King.

The biggest problem I have with this book is that the main character’s outlook on life is immensely depressing. And I’m going through some personal stuff that doesn’t have room for anymore sad depressing (other than mine). After all, part of the reason I read it to escape the boring monotony that is life. Anyways, I digress. Glory lingers too much on her dead mother who committed suicide when she was 5 years old. She mentions this practically every single page. On the other hand I understand why after a decade she still can’t surpass it, it is a traumatizing thing.

The other issue I have with this book is that that I don’t like any of the characters. Usually, there’s one character I like and hold on to it if I don’t like the main character, but I don’t like anyone else in this story. If I can’t latch on to a character then it’s impossible for me to latch on to the story no matter how interesting the subject is.

I don’t know if I’ll ever pick it back up to know what happens in the end, but it will sit on my bookshelf for an indefinite amount of time.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

