Review: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

Image result for pride and prejudice bookTITLE: Pride and Prejudice
AUTHOR: Jane Austen
RATING: 4/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY:

“It is a truth a universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

That’s the line Jane Austen decides to open up with in her widely known novel, Pride and Prejudice, and it’s the perfect sentence to describe the entire novel. It was hard to pick up this book, and like any classic, not know something about the story already.

I will admit that I had a difficult time reading the book because of the writing style and all those old-timey-wimey words. It took me a good 40 pages before I felt comfortable with the writing. Once I got past the writing, that’s when I truly started enjoying the story, from the Bennets’ quirky personalities, to Collin’s ridiculousness, to Elizabeth’s relationship with Jane, to Darcy’s growing love for Elizabeth and vice versa.

Speaking of Mr. Darcy. Before I started reading, I knew that Darcy was awesome, and because of that I was already in love with him before I even saw his introduction. I loved his relationship with Elizabeth for the sole reason that it was not love at first sight, instead it was a long slow (almost painful) process. I loved the way they both start to slowly realize they’re in love with each other. There’s a reason why this type of love story is a classic. There’s a reason why this tale has been adapted and told over and over and over again. Clearly, Austen knew what she was doing way back in the 1800s.

The characters are so funny and lively especially Mr. and Mrs. Bennet with their reactions to their daughters’ marriages. Mr. Collins, the cousin, was so absurd and so into himself that I found him just as funny. Even Mr. Darcy has his humorous moments. Such as in a particular scene where Darcy grabs a book to not think about Elizabeth, and from that moment on I knew he was already falling in love with her. He was just adorable.

And here’s why all of this is still relevant. The problems, in essence are still the same, because their problems are universal. Love and finding love is a problem. Parents act insane. Siblings are an embarrassment. Friends surprise you. And did I mention people still have to look for Mr. Right in a sea of Mr. Wrongs? There’s at least one thing anyone can identify with. Trust me, once you get past the writing style it reads like any other typical novel from our century… but with carriages, balls, and letters instead of cars, parties, and text messages. If you don’t believe me, go ahead and read it yourself.

P.S. I bought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and I’m so pumped to start it.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. Pingback: April Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

