Review: Animal Farm by George Orwell

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”


TITLE: Animal Farm
AUTHOR: George Orwell
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: When the animals of Manor Farm rebel against the humans, they form a new society where all animals are equal (sort of).
RATING: 5/5Don’t be fooled by the cutesy little pink pig on the cover of the Signet Classic version. If you’re hoping for cute little pigs like Piglet or Wilbur, you are wrong! The pigs from this book are nothing like that. They are filthy ugly pigs without a soul. What’s worse is I can’t look at a pig without disgust, and it’s not because it’s an animal.

The instant I started reading the book the parallels to the Russian Revolution was more than clear to me. It’s all there, communist ideology, Trotsky and Stalin, bending their own rules, food rations, big projects, even their flag and new name. The more I spoke to my dad (who’s a bit of a history nerd) about the book, the more I made connections to real world USSR. Every small detail is a clear parallel to what happened in Russia almost a century ago. I think I enjoyed the novel so much because of this.

It may be a fast read but there is so much more to the story than you can expect. So far, I’ve read two of George Orwell novels and I’ve loved both of them. And just like 1984, I know I will be thinking about this novel for a very long time. I realize how short this review it, but take my word, the book is amazing.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: Animal Farm by George Orwell

  1. Oh my god. I’m so interested in reading this. My brother read it for school and he told me that he didn’t like it, which is why I’ve steered clear of it so far, but you make it look like there’s so much to learn and see from it. Great short review!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

  3. Pingback: July 2017 Update | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

