Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover (Hopeless #2)

TITLE: Losing Hope
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
RATING: 4/5
One Sentence Summary: It’s Dean Holder’s point of view from Hopeless.

Yes, another Colleen Hoover book. And another book that didn’t disappoint me! It’s true she’s becoming one of my favorite authors.

Comparing Losing Hope to the other Hoover books, it’s not my favorite. Comparing Losing Hope to Hopeless, now that’s a different story. I loved it. It’s one of those rare situations where the companion novel is better than the original. I preferred Dean’s perspective than Sky’s. I liked it because we’re not left wondering what was up with his erratic behavior from the first book, which bothered me, a lot. Here, I could see his thought process whenever he got angry and “intense.”

I also loved seeing his character growth. It’s much more evident than Sky’s growth. In Hopeless, I didn’t know what Sky’s problem was, there wasn’t anything that she had to overcome. She was okay with being a “slut” without feelings, and I mean that in the nicest way possible. I didn’t know where I stood with her. With Holder, it’s different. From the start of the book we already see him dealing with his sister’s death and losing Hope (pun not intended, but welcomed) all those years ago. Call me lazy or whatever, but sometimes it’s nice when you don’t have to think so much and the author tells you what’s up.

My favorite parts of Holder’s perspective were the parts we didn’t get to see in Hopeless. I loved seeing how he befriended the Gay Mormon kid, whose name I already forgot. I loved his friendship with Daniel, who I found hilarious. And I especially loved the ending of this novel 100 times more than Hopeless, because it feels like a real ending. Although the characters have to continue living the horrors that they’ve gone through, they seem to reach a point where they find some sort of peace.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Review: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover (Hopeless #2)

  1. Pingback: May Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

