Review: Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

TITLE: Saga (Volume 1)Image result for saga volume 1
AUTHOR: Brian K. Vaughan
ILLUSTRATOR: Fiona Staples
RATING: 5/5
SUMMARY: Aliens, Alana and Marko, go on a space adventure as they try to keep their new family safe from the ongoing war between their planets.
WARNING: It has boobs and violence, so it’s like Game of Thrones but in space.

Apart from the Avatar: Last Airbender and The Walking Dead comics, I know next to nothing about comics or graphic novels. It’s definitely a genre I would love to get more into, but I had no idea where to start. I  scoured the internet for non-superhero comics and I found quite a few but none of them really interested me. Then, one day I went to my school’s book store (like any good booklover) and I found Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples and I was instantly entranced by the opening scene of two different human type alien species giving birth to their hybrid baby. I wanted to go ahead and buy that giant Deluxe Edition right then and there, but it was a little pricey for me at the time so I had to refrain.

Fast forward several months, I searched my library’s online catalog for comics and there it was. I placed a request and had to wait several more weeks. But this past Monday I finally had it in my precious patient hands at last! And let me tell you something, it was worth all that wait. This comic is amazing from start to finish. It is action packed, the world building is unique, the art is beautiful, the story is captivating, and I realize this is the first time a space odyssey has my undivided attention. Needless to say, I requested the next two volumes from the library and I can’t wait to read them.

Like I said before, the story is captivating from the start. It starts with a weirdly sweet yet disturbing birth scene and within five pages it changes drastically as the characters are catapulted into a dangerous action sequence, WITH their newborn child! The baby hasn’t been outside the womb for more than an hour and it’s already in a life threatening situation! Despite the danger of their predicament, I found myself laughing from time to time. It does have it’s funny parts, which I appreciated tremendously.

The art design is amazing! One of the best parts of the comic, are the creatures / aliens you encounter through the story. They are so different and no one questions their existence. In this way it reminds me of Star Trek or Doctor Who where no one questions the aliens, it’s just accepted. Anyways, there are people with horns, there are people with wings, there are humans, there spider human hybrids, and the funniest of them has to be the people with TVs for heads.

Although this is space adventure and somewhat sci-fi there’s an element of magic. I don’t know yet how much this “magic” influences the world but the characters mention it a couple of times. Not only that but it also has a supernatural element, in which ghosts are featured.

If you haven’t already guessed, I advise you to go get this comic! I absolutely loved it and can’t wait to see what else is in store for Alanna, Marko, and baby Hazel.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

  1. Pingback: May Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books from 2016 | Reading Turtle Duck

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Sci-Fi & Fantasy | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

