Review – W.I.T.C.H. : The Power of Friendship

TITLE: W.I.T.C.H. The Power of Friendship
RATING: 4/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Five teenage girls find out they have superpowers and are the new guardians of the veil.

Does anyone remember that really awesome TV show about five teenage girls with awesome elemental powers who were guardians of the veil on Jetix TV? Back when Toon Disney still existed? (Excuse me as I begin to reminisce the good old days of the good old Disney cartoon afternoons). Well, I remember W.I.T.C.H. and it remains to be one of my favorite cartoons growing up although I didn’t watch it as much because it was never on television, sadly. I do however, remember it fondly and I’ve been meaning to watch it again. Anyways, the show is based on Italian graphic novels of the same name written by Elisabetta Gnone, Alessandro Barbucci, and Barbara Canepa. And thankfully, my library had the translated version of them so I obviously had to check them out.

The first thing I realized was how young these characters are. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot about older characters whose problems tend to be much darker and mature by comparison. I was surprised by how much I was missing a fun light story without any crude humor. I think enjoyed reading this novel so much because I needed a break from adult-ish related themes. Yes, their problems seem cliché, like starting a new school or boy trouble, but that’s precisely what I needed.

The characters are so much fun, each of the girls has their own distinct personality. It’s clear to see that Taranee is a worry-wart, Irma is just full of sarcasm and spunk, and Hay Lin is a beautiful airbending Hufflepuff. It’s wonderful and fun to see them interact with each other and their messy teenage lives. So far, Irma is my favorite.

If you watched the TV adaptation of the novels, and you’re worried it will be like reading the same thing as the show, don’t be. The graphic novels seem to their own differences from the show. (I would mention them, but spoilers!) They also have more storylines that the show didn’t cover because of it was so short lived. (Only two seasons, they deserved more!)

Another thing I loved, was the art. It’s beautiful and plays with the lighter themes of teenage girlhood. But I think it’s because it has pretty glossy paper.

Anyways, I will be reading the rest of the novels. And yes I’m pretty sure this is a biased review for the sole reason that it reminds me of my childhood.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review – W.I.T.C.H. : The Power of Friendship

Leave a Reply

