Review – W.I.T.C.H. (Volumes 2-5)

Meridian Magic (W.I.T.C.H. Graphic Novels, #2)Originally, I was going to make mini-reviews for each problem, but I found I had the same problem with every volume. So instead of a review of each, I will review them collectively.

My first problem with them is that Disney Hyperion has a different definition of a volume. Actually, they’re not even called volumes, to be honest I don’t know what they are. Each “volume” has no more than two issues. I didn’t buy the books, but even if I did I wouldn’t waste well earned money on two issue volumes.

Every single issue has a cookie cutter format. I didn’t mind the first few issues, but I grew tired of it by book 4. Each chapter starts with the girls and their ordinary teenage problems, from family to boys to their friendship, then they get wrapped up in their powers or Meridian, then it get resolved rather quickly, and by the end of each chapter everything is fixed pretty well. In this way it is very episodic as they continue tackling the same problem, because of this the story does not flow as well as it could be.

Perhaps the pacing is worst problem. Everything here, happens too quickly. I don’t know if it’s because of the graphic novel format, but their resolutions are too fast, while the beginning is too slow. Some explanations about their world are quick and not enough for me to understand them.

I also happened to notice that these thirteen year old girls, are “sexed” up when they transform into their guardian uniform. And I’m not sure how I feel about that.

The story is there. It’s a great story too. It has all the wonderful elements of magic, crime fighting, strong females, magical creatures, teen angst, other worlds, the art is beautiful and fun, it’s even funny at times, but it’s not being executed correctly. For this reason, I’m compelled to give it a three. It’s an enjoyable read, but it’s not the best thing in the world. It even pains me to say this, but the television show was indeed much better than the graphic novels.

P.S. I realize this is a very different review from Tuesday’s. Also, the real reason I’m not continuing the series is because, my library doesn’t have the rest of the comics and I’m not going to pay to read them either.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review – W.I.T.C.H. (Volumes 2-5)

  1. Pingback: June Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

