Why I Gave Up on Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Not too long ago I tried reading Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer, a companion novel to In Between the Lines by the same authors. Although the first book didn’t necessarily blow me away, I liked it and thought I would give this one a chance.

To be honest, I didn’t like it and I didn’t bother finishing it after the first couple of chapters. It had it’s comedic moments which only embarrassed me. I got that weird embarrassing feeling I get for other people (in Spanish its pena ajena), and not even the good kind. I always get embarrassed for characters that think they’re doing an awesome job and don’t realize how idiotic they look to everyone else. And sadly, I didn’t love Oliver enough to withstand this uncomfortable feeling.

To enjoy this novel you have to have some suspension of disbelief, and I couldn’t do that. I realize I’m talking about a fantasy novel and it’s necessary to do that, but despite the genre and how ludicrous it can be, characters should always feel believable no matter if they’re fighting dragons or the school bully. With that said, I couldn’t let myself believe that Edgar’s mother would not notice that her son was someone else. Much less allow her son transfer to school that is miles away from their home. I don’t know about your mother, but my mom would have spotted a lie a thousand miles away and she would definitely not let me transfer to a school in another town! It didn’t feel real and I couldn’t let that go. That’s the main reason why I gave up on the book, well that and the library wanted it back. I know – I hope they addressed this issue later on, but I didn’t have the patience to read and find out.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

10 thoughts on “Why I Gave Up on Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

  1. Pingback: My August Agenda – The Heathen

  2. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award – The Heathen

  3. Pingback: This or That Book Tag – The Heathen

  4. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award 2.0 – The Heathen

  5. Pingback: The Blogger Recognition Award – The Book Heathen

  6. Pingback: Real Neat Blog Award – The Book Heathen

  7. Pingback: I Messed Up Book Tag – The Book Heathen

  8. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award – The Book Heathen

  9. Pingback: The Entertainer Blogger award – The Book Heathen

  10. Pingback: This or That Book Tag – The Book Heathen

Leave a Reply

