Review: Fables (Volumes 3-5)

WARNING: Mild spoilers below. I tried to avoid them as much as possible. These graphic novels, are well really graphic with their content. You will see boobs in at least one them!

Fables: Storybook Love (Volume 3)

RATING: 4/5
BRIEF SUMMARY: The men of Fabletown pull off an ocean’s eleven type of heist. While on another occasion Bigby and Snow have to survive in the woods when an assassin is set out to avenge them.

QUICK REVIEW: This could possibly be a 5 star volume for me, but here’s why it’s not. The first issue and the last seem out of place. It’s clear they are filler issues, and I kept waiting for it to be important to the rest of the volume, but they have nothing to do with the plot. Personally, I liked Jack’s flashback a lot more than the other one. The rest of the volume was fantastic! The action was great. There was a bit of comedy here and there. It even had some really sweet scenes between my favorite non-couple couple, Bigby and Snow White.

 

Fables: March of the Wooden Soldiers (Volume 4)

RATING: 4.9/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Fabletown is facing new changes as new elections are taking place, a portal to the homelands is opened, and our fearless heroine is faced with impending motherhood.

QUICK REVIEW: It is a big volume, compared to the first three at least, and a lot of stuff is going on. The story is built up slowly but in this case it doesn’t bother me. This volume is a lot more cohesive as a whole than the other volumes where various stories are told apart from the main one. I liked that the villain came from the other side because it’s a reminder that there is another world apart from Fabletown. I especially loved that final battle where everyone came together to defeat the army (maybe this week’s Game of Thrones has me hyped up for major battles). So far, this has been my favorite volume.

 

Fables: The Mean Seasons (Volume 5)

RATING: 3.5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: In between filler stories, the residents of Fabletown get ready for a change in leadership while others begin new journeys away from the community.

QUICK REVIEW: It feels like filler episodes to me. This volume is in an in-between-stage of the aftermath of the last volume and whatever is about to happen next. For me, what saves it is seeing the adorable pups Snow had and that plot twist in the end. I enjoyed seeing Charming, Beauty, and Beast handling their jobs and struggling with it too. Apart from that, there’s not much else I really loved. I’m not too big on war stories, so the beginning was sort of boring for me. In fact I skipped it completely and then went back to it. With that said, I am excited to see the upcoming storyline because it looks awesome and also very creepy.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Fables (Volumes 3-5)

  1. Pingback: June Reads – Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

