Unpopular Opinions Tag

I thought it would be fun to do this tag although I haven’t been tagged to do it. But that’s not stopping me!

A popular book or series that you didn’t like. I don’t know how popular this book is or not, but my least favorite book of all time is Evemore by Alyson Noel. I read the entire first book and didn’t like it at all. I didn’t like the characters. The storyline was at times cliché and vague. They tried to make it too current with its references to modern technology (which I think it should be a no-no in books). Did I mention it used every cliché in YA? From dark brooding supernatural teenager, to ex cheerleader turned freak, to orphans, and more supernatural loving. Needless to say, I didn’t bother with the rest of the series and it’s my least favorite book of all time.

Honorable Mention: If I Stay by Gayle Forman; Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin; Shiver trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater

A popular series that everyone else seems to hate but your love. I don’t read a lot of series and the few that I have everyone seems to enjoy too (or at least that’s what the internet tells me). But, in recent years I think people have given the Twilight Saga a lot of hate, which I understand, but I don’t care. I love this series and will always stay with me. It’s the series that reignited my love for reading and lead me to read some pretty awesome books like Harry Potter and The Hunger Games.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with or an OTP that you didn’t like. I don’t like Katniss and Peeta. I get it, I see it, I just don’t like it because it feels forced to me. I think the entire love triangle in this trilogy feels forced to me. The funny part is that I didn’t feel this way until I watched Mockingjay Pt 2. #IndependentWoman

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for. I’ve noticed that I don’t love fantasy as much as I did once. This is one genre I think I prefer watching than reading about it.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like. I don’t know how popular this character is because I don’t follow the fandom (trying to avoid spoilers until I finish the series), but I don’t really like Simon. I thought he was okay in City of Bones, he annoyed a lot in City of Ashes, but he improved a lot in City of Glass. I think my problem with Simon is that he was in a love triangle and I didn’t like it very much. I haven’t read the rest of the books in the series, so maybe I’ll like him by the end of.

A popular author you can’t seem to get into. Maggie Stiefvater. After reading the Shiver trilogy I’ve been afraid to read any of her other books or series. I’ve heard her Raven Boys series is good but it doesn’t interest me.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. LOVE TRIANGLES! (Surprised? You really shouldn’t be.) I’ve realized I am sick of them. What I don’t like about love triangles is that sometimes it’s so obvious who the person will choose it loses its appeal. Seriously, who thought Bella was going to end up with Jacob? I have yet to read a book where I don’t know who the protagonist will choose, I want to ship both pairings equally, I want to feel my heart being pulled in two different directions. That might sound horrible to some people, but it would be so different from the standard love triangles that I’ve read. Colleen Hoover came close to that with Ugly Love but that wasn’t really a love triangle.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading. Pretty Little Liars because it’s obvious those books will never end and I need closure at some point. Besides, I watched the series and gave up after season 5 when you-know-who came back.

The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book? Game of Thrones. I love the TV series but not the books and I read the entire first book and first half of the second book. The reason I didn’t like it is because I don’t like the writing style, it’s not for me. I find it too descriptive and takes away from story.

There you have it, my unpopular opinions on books.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. I’m also really not into Maggie Stiefvater’s style. And oh boy did I try to be!! Oh, I liked Twilight. Well, not the second book and the last 100 pages of the fourth, but otherwise, it was pretty cool!! This looks like a cool tag. I don’t remember if I’ve done it or not, though 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

