Review – Hamilton: The Revolution

TITLE: Hamilton: The Revolution
AUTHOR: Lin Manuel Miranda & Jeremy McCarter
RATING: 5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Lin Manuel Miranda (creator and star of the Broadway musical, Hamilton) and Jeremy McCarter (cultural critic) tell the story of how the “groundbreaking musical” of one of America’s founding fathers, Alexander Hamilton, came to be.

Photo Jul 29, 12 46 57 AM

How does a bastard, orphan, son of a whore and a
Scotsman, dropped in the middle of a
Forgotten spot in the Caribbean by providence
Impoverished, in squalor
Grow up to be a hero and a scholar?

First I have to say that this book is beautiful. It really does look like it’s a book from Hamilton’s era, which is much appreciated. The inside of the book is just as beautiful with it’s cast photos, behind the scene moments, and pictures from the actual show. When I first saw it, I thought it would weigh a ton, but it’s actually very light for it’s size.

This is a very different book from what I’m used to reading, mostly because it’s nonfiction, but I loved it. I’m already obsessed with Hamilton, so reading this was fantastic. I liked reading about all these things that happened to make Hamilton come alive on stage. I especially enjoyed reading Lin’s side notes on all the lyrics. In some instances they write about the various changes the production went through before the final product. It baffles me how different the show could have been on several occasions, including it’s iconic name.

I am far from being Broadway musical snob, but reading this gave me a bigger appreciation for all the hard work and endless dedication that goes into producing a show. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who is a fan of Hamilton.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review – Hamilton: The Revolution

  1. Pingback: July Reads & Giveaway | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

