Review: Daytripper

TITLE: Daytripper
AUTHOR: Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba
RATING: 3.5
SUMMARY: Bras de Oliva Domingos, an aspiring writer, works as an obituary writer for a newspaper.

Every once in a while I read an “award winning book” or a hyped book. There are a couple of problems with hyped books, mostly concerning high expectations and the disastrous disappointments because of them. Daytripper doesn’t fall in this category. I would say it falls into it’s own. I can see why it won an Eisner award, I can even see why it has a 4.2 rating on Goodreads, but at the end of the day I wasn’t in love with the story, although I’m the first to admit it’s a really well done.

I can honestly say that I’ve never read a graphic novel like this before. And it’s a good thing too. There is something refreshing about how simple this story is. Unlike most other graphic novels, Daytripper takes place in the real world with real people. That means it doesn’t focus on any magical element or crime fighting superheroes or anything of that sort. The problems the protagonist deals with are everyday problems with everyday solutions, and that’s why the world feels authentic too. I imagine it’s what a contemporary read would look like if it was turned into a graphic novel.

I think the art style is beautiful and contributes a lot to the novel’s realism. I don’t know if there’s much I can say besides how beautiful it is, and how much I enjoyed Brazil as a setting because it was different enough to be a foreign land without it becoming too foreign. (I hope that made sense.)

I enjoyed the writing very much because it has that “flowibility” that I love so much.

The authors overall message is to live life today, because it can be gone any moment. As a wise rapper once said, “You only live once ‒ that’s the motto $%&* YOLO.” However, they approach it in a different way, one which I actually liked. I’m not going to say much because #Spoilers.

Like I said before, the story is great, I enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it. I see it’s appeal, but at the end of my reading I just felt “okay” about it. So I’m not really sure if my rating justifies this weird feeling of liking it for what it is, but not loving it.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

