Review: V for Vendetta

TITLE: V for Vendetta2016-26-7--23-02-00
AUTHOR: Alan Moore & David Lloyd
RATING: 3/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: V is looking for vengeance (aka vendetta) in a future totalitarian fascist United Kingdom after being a victim of state experimentation.

Having seen the movie adaptation, I was sure I was going to love this graphic novel, but boy was I not completely satisfied.

9g8om

The most shocking part is the art style. I hated it (and I always feel bad for criticizing the art because I know how much work it goes into it) because it’s so dark, dull, and confusing. I know it’s supposed to be dark because of the subject matter, but there were moments I wasn’t sure what was happening. Most of the male characters looked the same to me, which made it hard to distinguish one from the other.  I’m sorry, but I just didn’t like it.

The writing had it’s good moments, but there were parts where I was confused and didn’t know who was talking. This happened to me mostly in the parts where there should be a voiceover in a movie. Also, V talks a lot, way too much and didn’t make much sense to me. I like to think that he’s so deep that most of what he said went over my head.

My favorite part from the movie as well as the comic was Valerie’s letter. It’s probably my favorite part and the most emotional side story of both. I mean, how can you not fall in love with these words?

“I may never see you or cry with you or get drunk with you. But I love you.”

3esrlus

I do think the story and the characters (mostly V and Evie) are intriguing just like the movie. With that said, there were moments I enjoyed because it provided some insight that the movie did not (but Evie’s story is very different in the film). However, this is one of the few occasions where I enjoyed the movie adaptation a lot more than the source material.

P.S. As you can see I had a little fun with GIFs, let me know if you liked them. 🙂

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

