Review: Hyperbole and a Half

TITLE: Hyperbole and a Half Photo Aug 17, 10 53 10 AM
AUTHOR: Allie Brosh
RATING: 5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Allie Brosh recounts different moments from her life with hilarious drawings.

This is perhaps the funniest book I’ve read in a long while. There are times where I laugh at a certain joke or situation from a book, but Brosh’s book had me laughing hysterically from beginning to end. If you need a happy book after your last tearjerker or after reading TFIOS, then let me forcibly push a copy of this book into your hands. I guarantee you will laugh and be happy again!

e285254f6a3d09d81ff18f722e31d01bb102f8a78ad57262b744b91ca34c63e4

I got this book after seeing it on a Buzzfeed list of graphic novels. If I’m honest I was initially put off by the drawings, but they quickly became my favorite thing about this. They are in no way a masterpiece but the expressions of the cartoons are priceless and contributed to too many laughs.

So what makes this book funny? I would say that the drawings are grand part of it, but it’s also all the self-deprecating humor Allie incorporates in her stories. She has no self-control, she tries horribly at being good, and her dogs make her life miserable in a “I hate you but love you” sort of way, and the best part is that she knows it. I love self-awareness especially in ridiculous situations, and that’s what Brosh does here. That, and her amusing drawings.

Her stories are easy to relate especially if you’ve ever:
– Been a child
– Had parents
– Had dogs or loved animals
– Tried to be a good person
– Had feelings

Despite all the funny stories in the book, Brosh does talk about one serious topic. Depression. I can’t say I’ve experienced serious depression, but I have dealt with my share of mental illness. She explains it like it is, mental illness isn’t easy to fix, it’s scary to ask for help, but it’s also nice to discover that “maybe everything isn’t hopeless bullshit.” While this isn’t the funniest chapter, it is one that resonated with me the most. Perhaps, because I’m dealing with a similar issue, and it’s nice to know that I’m not alone. That in some way, it is fixable and not my fault.

“Some people have a legitimate reason to feel depressed, but not me. I just woke up one day feeling arbitrarily sad and helpless.”

As for the funniest chapters I have to go with “Lost in the Woods”, “The Parrot”, and “Dinosaur (The Goose Story)”. I kid you not, I was up at midnight, stumbling and laughing through each sentence in these chapters. I’m pretty sure my dog thinks I’m insane now.

tumblr_inline_n286jgoeot1rydd6z

Read the book! And if you can, buy it. I made the mistake of getting it from the library, and now I don’t want to give it back. Maybe I will break my book buying ban and buy it, because I know I will miss it.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: Hyperbole and a Half

Leave a Reply

