Coloring Books & Review

Photo Aug 18, 10 13 57 PMGrowing up one of the first dream jobs I wanted as a six year old child was to be an “artist.” (I also wanted to be an astronomer, but that dream ended quickly) Of course that term has a very broad meaning, but forget about singing or acting, I wanted to be a painter. Ever since I could remember I always enjoyed drawing although I’ve never been very good at it, but coloring was a different matter. I like to think that I’m pretty good at it, and I take it very seriously taking hours of my day to properly choose colors and shade all the right spots. So imagine my excitement when adult coloring books become a thing! I was overjoyed like a kid on Christmas morning.

Finally! There are coloring books that are not about Barbie’s life or teddy bears and have quality paper that don’t break easily. I’m in heaven! So last week when I’m choosing a new book from Blogging for Books and see that I have the chance to receive a coloring book for free, I jumped on the chance like a beast.

The full title is Pop Manga Coloring Book illustrated by Camilla d’Errico, and it does not disappoint at all. The pages are good quality so go ahead use whatever you like (crayons, color pencils, water color, and my personal fave, markers). The illustrations are manga / anime styled, so if that’s not your thing I understand, but they are gorgeous. It’s also a beautifully crafted coloring book that has a dust jacket. A DUST JACKET! How many coloring books do you know that have a dust jacket!?!? Anyway…

 

Photo Aug 19, 6 37 55 PM

To see the finish product follow me on Instagram @readingturtleduck

Throughout the book you will see this cute little character by the name of Ayako who encourages you to break the rules and be creative. I thought it was cute and a reminder that art is about breaking the rules and having fun with it. I definitely can’t wait to have some free time to color some of these pages.

So while I’ve given up on my dreams of becoming a world renowned artist, at least I have a gorgeous coloring book to show off my awesome coloring skills.

P.S. The book mentioned was given to me by Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Coloring Books & Review

Leave a Reply

