Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

TITLE: Slammed
AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover
RATING: 5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Layken falls in love with her neighbor but there are really big circumstances that don’t allow them to be together.

I read Slammed the same week I received It Ends With Us in the mail. I don’t know why, maybe I was too afraid to start her latest novel, or I felt guilty for having Slammed for so long and not reading it, but whatever it was I picked it up and finally read it. I read it in one day, three sittings, and I don’t regret it. Colleen Hoover has two powers, and I hope she’s aware of them otherwise it would be terrifying:

1) She has the ability of pulling me out of my reading slumps
2) Once you pick up a novel by her, it is virtually impossible to put down. Forget about the world for next 12 hours because her book will NOT let you go.

What makes this a fantastic read? I would have to say that it has a little bit of everything. It talks about family, death, tragedy, love, friendship, growing up, and it’s surprisingly funny at times. It will make you laugh, and smile, and cry. It will make you happy, sad, and devastatingly angry (or maybe that’s just me). In other words, it will give you all the feels! ALL THE FEELS.

4ieetly

Like all of her books, her writing is easy to get into. It’s part of the reason why it’s so hard to put it down. It has what I always call, “flowibility.” I know it’s not a word, but it’s the only thing I can use to describe this (Rainbow Rowell has this too). They are so easy to fall into and read them. You may go in to read one chapter but before you know it you’ve read five chapters and you keep reading because somehow it’s not enough.

The characters were awesome. Eddie (who I know is a girl, I kept thinking was a boy) was totally awesome. I loved her budding friendship with Layken. She’s weird and not your typical girl, but that’s exactly what the people around her needed. She is truly one of a kind. She reminds me of the gay Mormon from Hopeless and Losing Hope.

This reminds me of the boys, Kel and Caulder, who despite all the troubles they go through they seem to accept it all with a smile. They’re unbelievably resilient kids, and I’m glad that they have each other. They also kind of surprised me in a weird way. Why? Because there are instances where they’re abnormally gruesome and morbid. I know they’re boys, but it just strange to me, but no one else seems to think so. So I guess it’s okay.

vqmm_f-maxage-0

I loved reading the slam poetry, because I often times forget how much I do enjoy it. It makes me want to go ahead and write poetry, although I suck at it… a lot.

Now that I read Slammed I want – no I  NEED Point of Retreat and This Girl. I NEED IT NOW! But, I’m on a forced book buying ban, at least until school starts. But who knows? After all, books are my weakness, and CoHo’s books are kryptonite.

SPOILERS BELOW

SPOILERS BELOW

LAST WARNING

BEWARE SMALL SPOILERS BELOW

Before reading this book, I knew it would be about a teacher student sort of romance, but that didn’t stop me from freaking out when the characters truly find out about their situation. I was so uncomfortable, but in a I-can’t-believe-this-but-I –really-want-to-keep-reading sort of way. There are so many parts where their relationship as teacher and student comes to light and always in these hilariously awkward moments. Like that moment when Layken tells her mother Will gave her detention for skipping his class, I died of laughter and embarrassment for them.

410729

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: August Reads & Book Hauls | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: September Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

  3. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

