This or That Book Tag

The lovely Lara from The Heathen tagged me to do this tag a couple of weeks ago and here it is at last! The original tag was created by Ayunda from Tea and Paperbacks.

Reading on the couch or reading on the bed?

Probably my bed. If I want to get any reading done it has to be in my room. My couch is in the living room where people magically make my books disappear and talk to me. Plus, nothing beats cuddling in bed with a book and the sound of rain hitting my window.

annoyedchandler

Accurate depiction of how I feel when I’m interrupted

Main character: Male or Female?

I have no preference. I do like male POVs because I don’t read a lot of them, but at the end of the day, I don’t really care as long as the story is good.

Sweet or salty snacks while reading?

Eating takes valuable time that I could dedicate to books. Don’t get me wrong, I loooove food, but I haven’t mastered the art of eating and reading simultaneously. I’m also afraid of getting my books stained. The only thing I have managed to eat while reading are granola bars and they happen to be sweet.

Trilogies or quartets?

Just as Lara said, “Can I pick neither?” I’m not a fan of series. I prefer standalones by a longshot. I hate waiting for sequels, I hate having to read several books to get the conclusion of the entire story. That’s not to say that I hate every series because I did enjoy Divergent and Twilight and Harry Potter, but that’s as far as my love for series go.

First Person or Third Person POV ?

The last time I read a third person POV, I found it so weird because I’m so used to first person, but I got used to it. Both POVs has its pros and cons, but I prefer first person.

Night or morning reader?

Night. It’s the only time I can guarantee I won’t be disturbed and even then I’ve had to stop reading to do something.

reading-in-bed-gif

Libraries or Book Stores?

Both? I love my local library. They let me request books from other branches and mail them to my branch, free of charge. Because of that, my library albeit very small, does have a very wide selection to choose from. Thanks to them, I’ve been able to read a lot of books including many graphic novels. Every once in a while I will get attached to a book because of it’s awesomeness and soon find myself buying it on amazon (if you count amazon as a bookstore).

to2bthe2bbookstore2bgif

There used to be more bookstores in my area but they went bankrupt and disappeared. Now the only bookstore I regularly go to is at my university and the book section at Wal Mart.

3esrlus

Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry?

Laughing. I like to laugh while reading even if I look like an idiot doing it.

tumblr_inline_n286jgoeot1rydd6z

Black or White book covers?

WHITE! Every naked book ever is black. White covers are so rare to find.

Character driven or plot driven stories?

I tend to like stories where characters drive the story forward. You can say that I Iike the human experience. I like to see characters grow throughout a story whether it’s plot heavy or not. Besides, if I don’t like a character it makes it hard for me to go on reading a book.

Good Examples: Rainbow Rowell has characters aimlessly drifting in somewhat plot-less stories, but I love every bit of them. She can write characters that are watching paint dry and I will love it.

Bad Example: Glory O Brien’s History of the future. I hated the main character and all the side characters. All of them annoyed me. So I DNF. I’m not even sure I will ever return to it. They were all either mopey and whiny or just plain stupid.

I tag Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads
 

Leave a Reply

