Review: Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

TITLE: Confessions of a Shopaholic Image result for confessions of a shopaholic book 
AUTHOR: Sophie Kinsella
RATING: 3/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Compulsive shopper and financial journalist, Rebecca Bloomwood, struggles to manage her own growing debt from shopping too much.

This is my first Sophie Kinsella book, and I didn’t exactly fall in love with it. There is no doubt this story is funny and charming and bit ridiculous, but that’s all it has going for it. Thankfully, it was enough for me to finish reading it because I was about to give up on it.

Rebecca, the protagonist and shopaholic, is rather annoying for a main character. She’s not the type of person I would like because she’s superficial and a liar. (I can’t stand liars). I hated how she was always trying to be someone she wasn’t. I don’t like it either when people lie about liking certain things just to impress people. For this reason I didn’t like her all the way.

im-not-even-sorry-gif

However, it was impossible not to laugh at all the adventures she had when it comes to shopping, saving money, or making more money. I thought that it was hilarious to read how awful she failed at managing her own expenses. Everything that could go wrong, did, and it was funny to see it all happen. (Does that make me a sadist?)

tumblr_mk2ptde8uq1qfphyto1_250I don’t know why it took me so long to read this but I’m also glad I did. I think it was the perfect fluffy light read I needed after my intense reading binge at the beginning of August. Will I be reading any more books from this series? Nope. I think one book about Rebecca’s financial woes was more than enough for me. But, I am interested in reading more of Kinsella’s novels just not more of this series.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

