Book Turn Ons and Turn Offs

THE TURN ONS

Humor

Part of me feels like I will automatically love a book if it can make me laugh.
Example: Paper Towns by John Green; Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Flowability

This is a made up word (by me) that describes books that flow well. This is a key ingredient in the books I tend to give higher ratings. If I can just sit down and not stumble over my words, then it automatically it will get at least 3.5 stars.
Example: Rainbow Rowelltumblr_nnhm5wokh71r00543o3_r2_250Sex and Cursing

It’s not so much as a turn on but a respect for the authors who are not afraid to go there especially in YA because I think it’s okay to talk about either of them as long as it fits in the story. If it doesn’t go then it doesn’t, but I don’t like it when they shy away from it.
Example: Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield, Looking for Alaska by John Green

Different POVs

I love different POVs of the same story because it offers insight into what’s happening with everyone. It sometimes completes a story in a way that one POV does not, and also major respects for authors who are able to do this well.
Example: Jodi Picoult

Bittersweet Endings

This is the masochist in me, but I like a touch of reality in my stories. Most of the time, bittersweet endings are that touch because life is full of “bittersweetness”. Also, these type of endings tend to stay with me a lot longer than others.
Example: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell; Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow; Allegiant by Veronica Roth; Copenhagen (The Movie)

THE TURN OFFS

The Fabio Covers

This is any book (mostly romance) with the rippling muscled man on the cover. They just make me uncomfortable and ignore them completely whenever I see them. I cringe.
Example: The original City of Bones cover but sexier

Image result for sexy book coversImage result for cringe gif

Really Long Blurbs

This is a problem I didn’t realize I had until I read June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore. In her case it was a really long blurb that explained the plot of the book. So as I read, I kept wondering where the story was going to start because everything I was reading was already said in the blurb. In my opinion, blurbs should give you a gist of the story but never the events in the book.
Example: June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

Mentions of Technology

When authors mention the latest technology or when they’re very specific, this is mainly for contemporary novels. It just feels weird to me to read “I put my iPhone 6s in my pocket but left the music on shuffle so…”
Example: Evermore by Alyson Noel

Fantasy

I’m slowly coming to the conclusion that the fantasy genre is not for me. Which is weird because what sparked my interest to read was Twilight and Harry Potter, but lately I haven’t been able to get into any fantasy books. I will read anything else sci-fi, murder mystery, even historical fiction, but fantasy doesn’t attract me as much as it used to. I find it difficult to get into these books because it takes a lot of effort to understand the magic and the world.

Negative Characters

I don’t mean the characters who start out negative and go to the rainbows and sunshine and unicorns side of the spectrum. I’m talking about the characters who are super pessimistic, the ones who dig a hole and bury themselves and have tea with the grim reaper. The only way if I can finish books with these type of protagonists is if there is another character who I can hold on to.
Example: Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King (DNF)

Named After the Dead

I despise this trend / trope with a passion. I hate it whenever someone dies and another person names their kid after them. I’ve seen it so much in television, movies, and books, that it’s not even a surprise anymore. It almost feels like the author is too lazy to think of another name.
Example: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (19 Years Later Epilogue) by J. K. Rowling, Once Upon a Time, among many more examples.

http3a2f2fmashable-com2fwp-content2fuploads2f20132f062fbrave1

So what are your book turn ons or turn offs? Let me know!

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

