Review: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

TITLE: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things Image result for all the ugly and wonderful things
AUTHOR: Bryn Greenwood
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: When Wavy and Kellen meet, they have an unforgettable connection that will change their lives forever. (That was not a hyperbole)
RATING: 5/5

WARNING: This book is not for everyone because it touches on sensitive and controversial subjects

This is one book I urge you go in blind and go in with an open mind. For those that need more encouragement to read this book, keep reading.

I asked for this book as a birthday present and my family did not disappoint. The day following my birthday I started reading it and finished it in two days. The story is very tough to read but the writing is rather simplistic and beautiful, making it easy to read. This is one of those books I wanted for the pretty cover and title but I got a lot more than I bargained for.

I have so much to say about this novel and yet, I can’t say much because I don’t want to spoil anything, not even the crux of the story…

tumblr_inline_obg8s8uvw81snpjdu_500

Okay, I’m going to say it. The story revolves around the romance between Wavy, a minor, and Kellen, a much older man. I did not know this when I first started reading the book, and I did feel uncomfortable when I realized it. However, I felt uncomfortable because of the subject matter not because of their relationship. It never felt disgusting or wrong as weird as that sounds. I think Greenwood did a great job at portraying a healthy relationship between these two despite the unconventionality of it. Kellen never felt like a predator and Wavy never felt like his victim.

Their relationship works because they both are so helpless, and being together helps with that. They do so much for each other by just being together that it’s amazing to watch it unfold. There’s also so many things wrong in their lives that this relationship is the only good thing, and it’s worth it.

The drama is real and it’s wonderful. It’s the most unexpected and unconventional romance I’ve ever read, where the stakes get higher and higher. One of my favorite parts of the novel is watching them fight for their love despite their circumstances. I even found myself tearing up in some moments of the story.

No. He said, if you love me as much as I love you, it’s not dirty. I loved him all the way and that meant nothing was dirty.

As much as the characters are wrapped up in their romance to forget about their ages, Greenwood doesn’t and provides different points of view to show that. She does acknowledge that for all of us who clearly see this as a problem.

It really is one of the most incredible relationships that I’ve read, and one that will stay with me for a long time. Go in with an open mind and enjoy all the ugly and wonderful things this novel has to offer. (pun not intended but appreciated)

Image result for lana del rey west coast gifs

P.S. I might do a follow up post on any extra thoughts I have on this novel

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

7 thoughts on “Review: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

  1. Pingback: October Reads, Hauls, & News | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: NEWS: Adaptations and Deleted Scenes | Reading Turtle Duck

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Books from 2016 | Reading Turtle Duck

  4. Pingback: 2016 December Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Read Because of Book Blogging | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

