2016 October Reads, Hauls, & News

October the month of all hallows eve, but more importantly my birthday! Sadly, it was still a long month full of school assigned readings, essays, and waking up early. To be honest I didn’t read anything for myself until the second half of the month when I decided to rebel and read my own books… because you know… I’m such a rebel.

For October my favorite read had to be All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood. It took a very sensitive and controversial topic and although it didn’t make me change my mind, it did make look at it from a different perspective. I was so invested in the characters that I even found myself rooting for them in the end, even if I shouldn’t have.

As for my least favorite book for the month, I have two options. One, The Defence of Poesy by Philip Sidney; two, milk and honey by rupi kaur. However, I’m not counting The Defence of Poesy because that was for school. The reason why I didn’t enjoy rupi kaur’s collection of poems is because it was vague and impersonal. I expected a lot more from kaur and it disappointed me.

October Readsphoto-oct-31-4-55-28-pm

Brown Girl, Brownstones by Paule Marshall (3/5)
– Smoke and Shadow (Avatar: The Last Airbender comics) (4/5)
– The Defence of Poesy by Sir Philip Sidney (N/A)
– The Farming of Bones by Edwidge Danticat (4/5)
– All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood (5/5)
– milk and honey by rupi kaur (2/5)
Going Geek by Charlotte Huang (3/5)

October Book Haul

Rad Women Worldwide by Kate Schatz and Miriam Klein Stahl
– Smoke and Shadow
– All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood
The Mortifications by Derek Palacio
– milk and honey by rupi kaur
– Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

In other bookish news, I’ve decided to join the November month long photo challenge on Instagram, created by Celinereads and Twirlingpages. This will be my first time since joining bookstagram that I will be doing a month long challenge, and I can’t wait for you guys to see what I have! Remember to follow me on Instagram as readingturtleduck.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

