The Inside & Outside Book Tag

Yet another book tag I found that no one has tagged me, but I’m going to do it anyway. Because remember, I’m a rebel. Grrrr.

Image result for spike rebel gif

Inside flap / Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough.

I like short summaries. When I see long summaries I tend to get tired of reading them. I just want the gist of things, but make “the gist” interesting enough for me to read.

New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: audio book, e-book, paperback, or hardcover?

Paperback… Don’t kill me! But let’s face it paperbacks are so much better. They’re easy to carry around and they don’t weigh as much. However, I do agree hardcovers are prettier.

Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)

It depends. If I’m reading for fun, I won’t write on them, unless I have a really good point to make. But, if I’m reading a classic I find it easier to keep up with the storyline if I make notes on the margin, I also write on my books when it’s an assignment. So I’m sorry book people, but I do have quite a few scribbled books. Are you shocked?

In your best voice, read for us your favourite first sentence from a book.

Pride and Prejudice? Divergent? Saga? I can’t decide.

Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

It really doesn’t! If the book sounds interesting to me, then I’ll read it. It’s that simple. I remember in high school when we had to analyze poems, some of the authors had unisex names, so we were unsure of the gender. It didn’t really bug me at first, but I realized that my analysis would be better if I knew the gender. Why? Because poems are more intimate, the topic of the poem makes better sense seeing where the person comes from. For example a 19th century women wouldn’t be writing about being in the frontlines of a war, but a man could be. Anyway, I digress. For books, I don’t care if an author is a man or a woman, but for poems I like to know.

Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

I am sooooo guilty of this. I don’t even know why I do it, but I do read the last page if it’s short or the last paragraph. Has it spoiled anything for me? Not really. Do I recommend it? Hell no! I’ve done this with TFIOS and a recent read Living Dead Girl and V for Vendetta.

Organized bookshelves, or outrageous bookshelves?

ORGANIZED! I am VERY organized with certain things, and one them is my bookshelf. The only time it wasn’t in tip top shape was when Booktubeathon came and destroyed it, but as soon as the week ended everything was in it’s place and I could breathe again.

Image result for organized book gif

Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

I don’t like talking about this, but Under the Poppy… I never read it and since then, I have ripped it apart. The “messy pages” background you see in some of my Instagram photos come from this book. I also rip the pages off in the name of blackout poetry. I’ve made my peace with and no longer feel guilty.

Take it outside to read, or stay in?

Let’s just say that books are like my organs, and I can’t leave without them. If I’m going to leave my house, I’m most certainly going to take at least one of them with me. It’s virtually impossible for me to leave the house without a book with me. I went to a party, and I took a book with me. I went to Ihop with a friend and took a book with me. I go to the mall to shop and I take a book with me. I go on vacation and I bring two books with me, or buy a book in the airport. Even in my own house I carry a book with me everywhere I go because you never know when the urge is going to hit. My favorite place to read is the backyard, but it’s summertime and it’s Florida, so I don’t go there a lot not because it’s too hot and too humid because it’s Florida.

Image result for crazy florida weather gif

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

