Review: Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino

TITLE: Before We Were Strangers: A Love Story Image result for before we were strangers
AUTHOR: Renee Carlino
RATING: 4.5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Grace and Matt fall in love their senior year of college, and then life happens. KA-BOOM 15 years later.
WARNING: It has sex scenes.

I got this book for two reasons:

  1. I kept seeing this book on Instagram so of course it must be good (Instagram hasn’t disappointed me yet)
  2. The cover is beautiful and so I had to have it! I don’t even remember reading an actual synopsis.

Obviously, I bought this book for the wrong reasons, but it worked out in the end because I loved reading it! The story is so sweet and although it has it’s heartbreaking parts it’s a happy book overall. The relationship between Grace and Matt felt so sincere from start to end, especially because it wasn’t “instalove”. I think that’s what I liked most about them. We get to see their relationship naturally develop from strangers to best friends to boyfriend and girlfriend.

I especially loved the setting of the book. You never forget that they are college students living on a budget in New York City. I loved seeing them going out into the city finding places to eat for discounts, going out to bars and lounges, and of course smoking weed in the park. I felt part of the experience and the city. It makes me want to transfer to a school in New York. It’s a small part of the novel, but it was always in the forefront of the story.

Image result for new york gif

The story was very easy to get into. It had “flowibility”. So easy that I read half of the novel within four hours, and finished the rest the following day. So in less than 24 hours I had finished this book. If that doesn’t tell you how good it was then I don’t know what will. (The last book I read in less than 24 hours was Ugly Love one of my all time favorites).

So go out and get the book! It’s a lovely love story you will love!

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino

  1. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: Wanderlusting for Books | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

