Review: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

TITLE: The Problem with Forever dsc03014
AUTHOR: Jennifer L. Armentrout
RATING: 4.5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Mallory and Rider are reunited after years of separation since they were rescued from their foster home.

 

The reason why I loved this book was because of the main character, Mallory. Specifically, her healing process and the way her recovery was portrayed. In most books where a character is dealing with mental illness, it’s usually about getting them help, but in The Problem With Forever it’s more about what happens after you’ve gotten help. Mallory, has gone to therapy she’s in a better place, but she still struggles doing simple things. It just shows that recovery is a constant nonstop process. It’s almost as if Mallory has read my diary and wrote about it.

I also liked the diversity of characters in the book. Of course, I’m a little biased being Hispanic but I love seeing stories where there are characters speaking Spanish. I was even surprised by it because from experience the only authors who incorporate Latino characters are Latin American authors, so I was very happy to see that.

I enjoyed Rider and Mallory’s love story and their reunion because it was sweet and believable. The ups and downs they faced throughout the story was necessary to help the characters grow. I thought that the subtle twist towards the end was really smart of Armentrout to put in, I’d even say it was needed.

As much as I enjoyed this novel, I didn’t like a couple of things. For one, I think as a reader I needed more details about Mallory and Rider’s experiences with the foster care system. They say it was horrible but vague details and one account of what happened one night, isn’t enough to paint a horrible past. In some ways it doesn’t justify the war the characters’ actions in the present.

There were other little things that bothered me too like, Rider’s hotness, or how predictable some of the story was. However, none of these tiny things made me hate the book. Sure, I didn’t like it, but Mallory’s healing process is overshadowed these little things, won me over, and eventually made me cry in the end.3esrlus

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: 2016 December Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: Mental Health in Books and TV | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

