Mini Reviews: Fables Vol. 11-13

TITLE: Fables: War and PiecesImage result for fables war and pieces
VOLUME: 11
RATING: 2/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: The Fabletown residents finally go to war with against the adversary and their forces.

QUICK REVIEW: I’ll be honest; I didn’t like this installment. Mostly, because war and battles are not interesting to me, most of it goes over my head and bores me. However, it was bad. I’ve been waiting for this big battle against the adversary for 11 volumes, and it was a disappointment. It didn’t feel like the big final battle to me until I read the end. It was a huge letdown.

Image result for fables the dark agesTITLE: Fables: The Dark Ages
VOLUME: 12
RATING: 4/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: As old and new Fabletown residents deal with the results of the war, a new evil is after them.

QUICK REVIEW: The last volume felt very final, the war is over, the adversary is defeated, and everyone seems to be recuperating, right? WRONG! Willingham brings us a new foe who looking creepy and a lot more terrifying than the Adversary. I am excited about this new chapter in the Fables universe. Ironically, this volume had the emotional weight that was missing from War and Pieces.

P.S. They keep changing the style and adding stories that are not important and that continues to bother me and perhaps the reason why I’ll never give these volumes a 5/5.

TITLE: Fables: The Great Fables CrossoverImage result for Fables: The Great Fables Crossover
VOLUME: 13
RATING: 3/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Jack Horner is back in town telling everyone the world is ending, so it’s up to Bigby and Snow to investigate.

QUICK REVIEW: I hated and loved this volume at the same time. It’s exactly what I’ve been wanting from Fables when it comes to a cohesive volume. I thought the writer and his “literals” and “genres” were funny and a genius way to break the fourth wall. I loved that aspect of this volume BUT, this volume is a massive waste of time because it’s ONE GIANT digression from the real story. In other words, it’s a filler volume, and I’m not a big fan of filler volumes. As much as I enjoyed these new characters, I also kept thinking “why is this important?” Not to mention, Jack is one of the most unlikeable Fables, and he hasn’t changed one bit since the last time we saw him (if anything he’s worse).

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Fables Vol. 11-13

  1. Pingback: 2016 December Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

