Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

TITLE: The Unexpected EverythingImage result for the unexpected everything
AUTHOR: Morgan Matson
RATING: 3.5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Andie’s predictable life makes an unexpected turn when everything goes wrong now she has to deal with her father, her friends, and a cute boy.

If it hadn’t been because I was buddy reading this with someone, I may have never picked it up or finished it. It’s not my favorite contemporary book, but it’s not bad either. It does a lot of things I liked and there were things I disliked, but nothing I truly despised. For example, I really, really, really love that cover.

The story starts out slow and I was ready to give up until I reached around the 200-page mark where things got a bit more interesting. Up until then I wasn’t enjoying the story or the characters, especially the characters because they felt superficial. Andie may have been the protagonist and the one telling the story, but, it felt like I wasn’t getting anything past what was there on the surface.

Don’t get me wrong, she does have her problems but they’re overshadowed by everything else going on in her life. Because of this she appeared to have too together and that’s boring to see, in my opinion. Even when the story gets interesting, Andie’s life still appears perfect.

qh14c

Apart from this, the characters are colorful and even funny at times.

However, the further you go the better it gets. Andie’s relationship with her dad was my absolutely favorite part of the story. It wasn’t the friendships the romance that kept me reading, but her relationship with her dad was what kept me reading and enjoy all the times he came up in the story.

As far as the ending goes, I thought it was very unexpected… Pun intended.

im-not-even-sorry-gif

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. Pingback: 2016 December Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

