Review: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files_01) by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

TITLE: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) Image result for illuminae
AUTHORS: Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
RATING: 5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: After their planet is attacked, survivors flee from their home planet in the hopes of reaching a safer destination while the Lincoln, a dangerous spaceship follows them through the cosmos.
NOTES: This is the first book in the Illuminae files series

Ever since I laid my eyes on Illuminae with it’s beautiful and one of a kind cover, I knew I had to have it. So I bought it, but then something happened. I was scared I wasn’t going to like it because in my brain something so pretty can’t also be really good. That would be too good to be true. But as I started reading it, I realized my fears were completely unfounded. Everything about this book is unique and tells an amazing sci-fi story about survival.

One of the reasons why I was so intrigued by the Illuminae Files series was because of the format. This is not your usual narrative, instead it’s a collection of… well… files (hence the title) from interviews, videos, memos, emails, transcripts, and more. I’m not going to lie, it did take me a moment to get used to the style, but once I got accustomed to it, I couldn’t stop reading.

Image result for reading gif

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything from the science fiction genre, but this had so many different aspects from some of my favorite shows that I didn’t care whether I read sci-fi or not. Because it does take place in space I couldn’t help but think of Interstellar. I’m not going to go into specifics but it also has horror and survival aspects to the story that I was not expecting but I really enjoyed them. There were moments where I was genuinely terrified of what was happening, and that’s not something I usually feel while reading books. And I thought being in space was horror enough, but that’s just me.

Image result for scared gif

Did I mention how beautiful this book was? Not only was the cover design genius, but some of the inside pages were just amazing to look at. I almost wish some of the pages were in color so they could really pop. Then again maybe not, because space freaks me out (which is why I label Interstellar as a horror film).

Anyway, after reading it, I automatically bought Gemina and now I can’t wait to get my hands on it to read it and devour it!

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Review: Illuminae (The Illuminae Files_01) by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

  1. Pingback: Books With Unique Formats | Reading Turtle Duck

  2. Pingback: The Candy Book Tag | Reading Turtle Duck

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Sci-Fi & Fantasy | Reading Turtle Duck

  4. Pingback: July 2017 Update | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

