Books With Unique Formats

I’ve always enjoyed books with unique formats because it’s different change of pace and can add to the story. Here are some of the books that I’ve read that have unique ways of storytelling.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Image result for thirteen reasons why
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Before committing suicide, Hannah Baker leaves thirteen tapes in which she explains why she killed herself.

FORMAT: One of my favorite formats on this list and my favorite aspect of the novel is the unique narrative. Because there are two stories, two protagonists, the story is told in a simultaneous double narrative. While you read Clay’s story you’re also listening to the tapes he’s listening to. It is confusing at first, but after a couple of chapters it’s easy to keep up with the story.

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Image result for house on mango street
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Esperanza longs for a proper house to call home instead of the one she currently lives in on Mango Street.

FORMAT: This book is made up of a series of vignettes (really, really, really short chapters) that describe different moments in the protagonist’s life. The small chapters and Cisnero’s writing style make it a fast and enjoyable read. It’s one of the few books I re-read each year.

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Image result for crank book cover
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: A teenage girl get sweeped up by the world of drugs and struggles to come out of it alive.

FORMAT: This is a book written entirely in free verse poetry making it an easy and fast read. The author definitely has fun with the format and it shows, however it doesn’t take away from the serious subject matter. According to the author, what happens in the book actually happened to her own daughter.

NOTE: This book is the first in a trilogy but I’ve only read the first one.

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Image result for attachments by rainbow rowell
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Lincoln gets hired by a newspaper to monitor the company’s emails when he begins to fall in love with Beth Fremont from reading her emails.

FORMAT: The format changes back and forth between normal prose and email messages. I’m always worried about weird formats like this but then I’m proven wrong, and I’m always glad that I am. This is no exception because the emails form part of the most exciting moments in the story.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Image result for perks of being a wallflower
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Charlie writes letters to an unknown person detailing his first year attending high school.  

FORMAT: Two things. One, I’m pretty sure everyone knows the format. Two, if you didn’t I already gave it away in my summary. The only other thing I can say is that I’m amazed at how detailed and long Charlie’s letters are. I don’t think I could write like he does.

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Image result for illuminae

ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: After their planet is attacked, survivors flee from their home planet in the hopes of reaching a safer destination while the Lincoln, a dangerous spaceship follows them through the cosmos.

FORMAT: This is the book that inspired me to make this list because it is so drastically different from everything I’ve ever read. It is a collection of interviews, videos, memos, emails, and so much more. It was a bit hard to understand the story at first but ultimately the format really made the story.

NOTE: This is the first in a series called the Illuminae Files. I also wrote a review of it you can check it out HERE. Spoiler alert: It was amazing!

DIARY FORMATS

Image result for gabi a girl in piecesImage result for go ask aliceImage result for flowers for algernon
Diary formats, for me, can go either way. I either love them or hate them. For example, I wasn’t a fan of the format while I read Gabi, a Girl in Pieces but I think it worked really well for Go Ask Alice.
–  Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero
–  Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
–  Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

Let me know what you think. Have you read any of these? Did I miss a book? Let me know in the comments!

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Books With Unique Formats

Leave a Reply

