Mini Reviews: Fables Volumes 14 & 15

TITLE: Fables: Witches Image result for Fables witches
VOLUME: 14
RATING: 3/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: The witches of Fabletown have a change in leadership in the hopes of defeating the Dark One, meanwhile Flycatcher plays baseball.

QUICK REVIEW: This is still very much setting up the story for the upcoming volumes, as far as I could tell. I’m intrigued by the witches and the magic they’ve done for Fabletown. I liked the backstory for the Dark One and I like the general direction this is going in. I’m surprised the human fables and animal fables have gotten so well together since they’re all living together.

 

Image result for Fables rose redTITLE: Fables: Rose Red
VOLUME: 15
RATING: 4.5/5
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: Rose Red and Snow White’s early childhood is revealed, while Totenkinder has one more trick up her sleeve to defeat Mister Dark

QUICK REVIEW: This has to be one of my favorite volumes from the series along with Volume 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers. (If I hadn’t already said I would never give a fables comic 5 stars because of how the unimportant side story comics and inconsistent art style, I would have given this one 5 stars.) I loved the two story arcs in this volume. The flashback to Rose Red and Snow White’s childhood was fun to see because of how they twisted and manipulated the original fairytales for Fables. I miss seeing these little differences from the traditional fairytales. As for Mister Dark, I enjoyed the extra information about these powerful immortal like gods and what they are. (I won’t say because spoilers.) Just when I think about giving up on the Fables, they do something like this and I can’t help but read more.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Mini Reviews: Fables Volumes 14 & 15

  1. Pingback: January 2017 Reads | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

