January 2017 Reads

This past month marks the one-year anniversary of my blog. I started this blog on a whim. I didn’t really start it for any other reason than that I wanted to voice my opinions on what I read. I didn’t think of getting followers or comments on what I wrote, so when I did get a following (no matter how small) it was a surprise. So this is also a thank you for supporting my blog!

Image result for thank you gif

Now that I got that out of the way, let’s get to what I read this month.

Ok, so depending on how you look at things I either read a lot or I read very little. I gave up on two books, finished another three books, two graphic novels, and read several short stories.

BOOKS READ IN JANUARY

For January, my favorite books were It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover and The Story of My Life by Helen Keller. I’m not going to say much about Hoover’s novel except that it ripped and stomped my heart a couple of times in the process of reading it. Just thinking about it hurts. As for Helen Keller’s autobiography, I will say that it was amazing and forever grateful that I picked it up last week at the library. Her story is truly inspirational and I definitely recommend that you read it because it shows what people are capable.

My least favorite book for the January, and perhaps all time, is Ten Tiny Breaths by K. A. Tucker. I thought I would like it because I had seen it so many times in different New Adult lists, but OH MY GOD, how I despised this book.

I can usually find something redeemable about a book, even with books I don’t finish, but Tucker’s novel has nothing redeemable about it. Everything is wrong with it. I have reviews for most of these books.

SHORT STORIES READ IN JANUARY

  • “The Screaming Skull” by F. Marion Crawford
  • “Sredni Vashtar” by Saki
  • “Casting the Runes” by M. R. James
  • “How Nuth Would Have Practiced His Art Upon the Gnoles” by Lord Dunsany
  • “The People of the Pit” by A. Merritt
  • “The Night Wire” by H. F. Arnold
  • “The Dunwich Horror” by H.P. Lovecraft
  • “The Book” by Margaret Irwin
  • “Genius Loci” by Clark Ashton Smith
  • “The Tarn” by Hugh Walpole
  • “White Rabbits” by Leonora Carrington

Apart from these books I’ve been reading a lot of horror short stories for my Horror Genre Literature Class. All the stories come from this giant compendium of books called The Weird, they’re from authors spanning the entire 20th century up to 2010. So far, the stories are not as scary as I thought as they would be but maybe I’ve prepared myself by watching The Walking Dead, Vampire Diaries, Buffy: The Vampire Slayer, and Angel which all have some horror in them. However, some of the stories are most definitely weird but they’re enjoyable, so I’m not complaining. Some of my favorites have been “The Night Wire” and “The Book”.

BOOKS I DID NOT FINISH IN JANUARY

  • Weregirl by C. D. Bell
  • The Mortifications by Derek Palacio

As I mentioned I have given up on two books for two different reasons. Weregirl is not horrible and sometimes I wonder what will become of these characters but it’s been so long since I started reading it that going back to it I lost interest. That and there were things that bothered me. With The Mortifications, I lost interest within the first 50 pages of the book because it simply wasn’t what I was expecting. Neither book was bad, but it was starting to feel like a chore and in my book (pun intended), reading shouldn’t be a chore.

If you’re wondering where the monthly book haul is, you won’t find it. Why? Because I simply haven’t received any books or bought any. I know shocking isn’t it?

Image result for shocked face gif

I am trying VERY HARD to read my TBR list before I buy any new books. So far I’m doing ok, but I’m also failing because I’m reading library books instead of my own. To be honest, I see myself breaking that goal very soon. On the other hand I did it for a month!

So let me know, what have you been reading?

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

