Review: The Story of My Life by Helen Keller

TITLE: Story of My Life Image result for helen keller story of my life
AUTHOR: Helen Keller
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: In this inspiring book, Helen Keller tells her own story from what she remembers before her blindness to when she started attending college.
RATING: 4/5

I don’t know what compelled me to pick this book up when I went to the library this past week. I’ve heard of Keller’s story and I vaguely remember reading a children’s book about her, but my interest in her never went farther than that, so I don’t know why I checked out her book that day. However, I am so glad that I picked up the book and read it, because whether I knew it or not, I needed to read it.

The most awe inspiring aspect of her life is the simple fact that she is able to do anything and everything she sets her mind to. She goes kayaking, row boating, reads, plays checkers, among a myriad of other extraordinary things I didn’t expect her to do. Yes, she needs help or different equipment but at the end of the day she completes the task like any other person, and that’s more than okay.

While I read her story, I noticed how learning is a big portion of her life.  It’s in learning that she finds the most happiness and comfort because that’s how she interacts with her world. It reminded me of how fun learning is when you’re growing up. It should never become that tedious dread it becomes as you grow older.

“Knowledge is love and light and vision.” – The Story of My Life by Helen Keller

If there is one word to describe her learning process, it’s the word “passion.” From the first time she understood water was “w-a-t-e-r” it’s clear she became insatiable to learn more. After that she learned how to write and speak, she even went to college and became the first deaf-blind person to earn a college degree. And the most amazing thing is that she excelled in all of her endeavors in spite of her disabilities proving everyone that the impossible is possible.

“But if they unintentionally placed obstacles in my way, I have the consolation of knowing that I overcame them all.” – The Story of My Life by Helen Keller

Keller’s own story is inspiring but it couldn’t have been accomplished without Anne Sullivan’s teaching. Thanks to her, Keller came out of that isolated darkness she was in. Learning how to communicate with others opened a whole new world she wasn’t aware of. There’s a contrast between Keller’s world before and after Sullivan’s arrival and seeing that change in Keller’s life was amazing to see.

Reading her autobiography, it’s clear to why she’s a symbol of hope and courage. She is also honest, and intelligent, and again inspiring and if you ever find yourself in front of this book, grab it and read it.

If anyone is wondering how exactly Keller communicated with others or how she learned to speak there are videos of her on YouTube where they explain how she did these things. Below are links to these videos if you’re curious.

Helen Keller Speaking

How Helen Keller Learned to Speak

Helen Keller Using a Typewriter

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

