This or That: Rating Books One Star

This or That challenges is hosted by the Bookmark Chronicles. This week’s prompt is:

Have you ever given a book a one star (out of 5) rating?

If so, give the title and why didn’t you like it (or them if it’s happened more than once).

I generally don’t but I know I definitely have. For me they are rare so a book has to be atrociously horrendously bad for me to give them a 1 star rating. I went through my Goodreads account and found these 6 books and here they are.

Ten Tiny Breaths by K. A. Tucker

Image result for ten tiny breaths

This one made the list recently this year. I despised it and I kept hoping it would get better as I read it but it just kept getting worse. It’s SUPPOSED to be a love story but it’s really about this insta-love story between an angry girl and her kinda creepy neighbor who says he will “fix” her. It just made me angry and I don’t know why it has such a high rating on Goodreads.

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Image result for evermore by alyson noel

Okay, If I’m honest I don’t exactly remember why I gave this a one star rating. I think it had to do with corny predictable plots in the Twilight era of vampires and some kind of insta-love. I remember I even found typos that bothered me.

No Turning Back by Bryan Anderson

Image result for no turning back by bryan

This is the only book on this list that I feel bad about giving a low rating. Why? Because I met the author at a school event and he is a wonderful human being in person. He’s a brave man who went to the front lines of war for his country, and yet here I am giving his book a one star rating. The problem with the book is that personality and wonderful storytelling in person does not translate as well in book form. The sad parts weren’t sad and the funny parts weren’t funny.

A Passage to India by E. M. Forster

Image result for a passage to india

I had to read this for school and for whatever reason it was a tough read and therefore hated. Looking back maybe it doesn’t deserve it, but that’s how I felt at the time.

Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Image result for forever by maggie stiefvater

The first book in the series was good, I enjoyed it, but the trilogy went downhill from then on. By the time I got to this book, I was already annoyed by the story and barely finished it.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “This or That: Rating Books One Star

  1. Pingback: This or That? #78 (Conclusion) | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

