Review: Every Day by David Levithan

TITLE: Every Day Image result for everyday david levithan
AUTHOR: David Levithan
RATING: 4/5
SUMMARY: A 16-year-old literally changes bodies every day, never being the same person twice, and never staying longer than one day.
NOTES: This is the first book in a trilogy. The second book, Another Day, tells the story from another character’s point of view.

For today’s review, I want to start off with the one thing I disliked about the book before telling you all the reasons why you should definitely read Every Day by David Levithan.

The first thing I immediately disliked was the insta love our protagonist, A, has towards Rhiannon. It was too fast for my taste, and it didn’t get any better when the romance began to feel one sided. Maybe if I read Another Day that will change, but in this book Rhiannon doesn’t seem to reciprocate that love. Maybe she does, what do I know? But, it’s not present in this installment.

The only reason I forgive Levithan for using this insta love trope is because it works for the story he’s telling. The protagonist changes bodies literally every single day, and that makes it impossible to fall in love with someone he sees everyday because he doesn’t have that at all. In fact, that’s the whole of the story: it’s hard to form any type of relationship with someone who is not there every day. It did make me appreciate the  consistency I take for granted in my everyday life, but it also makes me question as to who I would be without it. Every Day might make you question your life and existence, but I imagine that how A has felt for the majority of his life.

Image result for mid life crisis gif

Apart from this weird love story, I liked everything else about the book starting with the unique concept. I found it so interesting and so well done that I forgave anything else that bothered me. Levithan uses A’s weird circumstance to his advantage to write from a diverse set of people. The bodies A inhabits come in all genders, shapes, sizes, races, and sexualities, and that was amazing to see in a YA book. There is also a wide range of issues A is forced to deal with because he/she also finds him/herself in bodies coping with serious issues like depression, self-harm, eating disorders, among others. You basically get a little bit of everything.

Because I am not a huge fantasy or sci-fi reader, I liked that Levithan doesn’t go deep into A’s odd existence. He let’s it be what it is without searching for answers. I like it whenever storytellers balance their stories between reality and fantasy without having one overpower the other, and Levithan does that. It’s a cool refreshing twist on an otherwise ordinary love story.

Don’t read this book for the romance, read it for A’s unique circumstances and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

giphy

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Every Day by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: February 2017 Update | Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

