Top 5 Wednesday: Betrayals

PROMPT

Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

 Most of these betrayals have spoilers in them, so here’s the short version of books and movies that have betrayed me. If you want to read my spoilery reasons then go further down the page.

– Game of Thrones (TV Series)
– We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
– Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
– Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
– Ask Me Anything (Movie)

*The list goes from least betrayal to the most

tumblr_inline_obg8s8uvw81snpjdu_500

SPOILERS BELOW!

 

5)    Game of Thrones (TV Series)

Image result for game of thrones

At this point, I don’t feel betrayed by most of the deaths and shocking events in GOT, but I will never forget how shocked and betrayed I felt by Ned’s death in season 1. That will ALWAYS stay with me because it’s also one of the few major deaths that I wasn’t spoiled about, and it shows that no one is safe in this show.

4)    We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Image result for we were liars rainbow rowell

Going into this story I knew there was a twist so I didn’t feel 100% betrayed by it but I still felt that way. Why? Because the “big reveal” negated everything I had read up to that point. What else could I expect from the most unreliable character ever?

3)    Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Image result for attachments rainbow rowell

This was not a bad betrayal, if anything it was a pleasant surprise. For most of the book I thought Lincoln was a scrawny skinny 27-year-old man, so when it was revealed that he was tall and muscular, it blew my mind! My whole image of Lincoln changed in an instant. I’ve noticed that Rowell does this in all her books, there’s always an unexpected character that’s going to surprise you, and she does it so well. So, this one isn’t so bad but I still felt betrayed by it.

2)    Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Image result for illuminae

If you’ve read Illuminae, then it shouldn’t come as a surprise that it’s on this list. Let’s just say, I was shocked when it’s revealed that Kady wasn’t talking to Ezra for half of the book, but was instead talking to AIDEN! Not only was she talking to the wrong person, the person she thought she was talking to was dead! …And then he wasn’t dead. If that’s not enough, how about that ending when we find out that Ezra’s mom might be behind all this! #DoubleMindBlown My emotions were all over the place reading the last 200 pages of Illuminae, and I can’t wait to see what Gemina has in store for me.

1)    Ask Me Anything (Movie)

Related image

This was the first story that came to mind when I saw the prompt for this week. The movie tells the story of a reckless troubled promiscuous young woman trying to figure out her life. Despite all the problems and her bad behavior (and choices) I still found myself rooting for her to do better, especially when I started to think there was still hope for her… BOOM! The movie takes a 180 spin and changes everything! It turns out that Katie’s blog was peppered with lies to protect her privacy, and although I knew this from the beginning I was still shocked to see Katie’s real face. What’s worse is that her real mother reveals that she went missing minutes after her last blog post! Not only do I not know the real Katie, but I also get an open ending! This betrayal stayed with me for months, even now thinking about it now makes go ughhh gahhh aaahhhh!

I may sound like I’m complaining, but in reality I’m just in awe. I think the story was told well and it has so many layers to it, that I could keep talking about it forever, but I won’t. 

So, that’s why Ask Me Anything is number one story to betray me.
So what are some stories that have betrayed you? Are they on the list? Did I miss one? Let me know! 

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Betrayals

  1. I know how you feel about Ned’s death! It shocked me so much that I wait until s6 to actually continue with the series. At that point, I was still a naive newbie that thinks “well the protagonist should survive RIGHT?”. 6 seasons and countless deaths later, I’ve learned my lesson😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

