Top 5 Wednesday : Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

PROMPT
Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

Disclaimer, I haven’t read that many LGBTQ books so I’m also including TV shows.

1)  Buffy the Vampire Slayer (TV Show)

Image result for willow and tara

SPOILER ALERT for those who haven’t seen Buffy (but it’s been decades), but Willow and Tara’s relationship was one of the first gay couples shown on TV. Although, I didn’t watch it when it first aired (because I would have been a toddler), I can still appreciate it today and what it’s done to pave the way for other LGBT couples on TV.

2) Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I know Carry On is a more adequate choice for this category, but I haven’t read it yet. I did, however read Landline and it has it’s own LGBT characters in it. I was far from expecting it but loved it all the same. I’d also like a whole book dedicated to that one character because I loved him/her (I’m avoiding any type of spoilers).

3) Every Day by David Levithan

I know Levithan has written many books about gay male characters, but (again) I haven’t read any of them yet. However, I still liked the way Levithan tackled the blurry line of sexuality in Every Day with a character that changes bodies every single day. That character doesn’t have a gender, or race, or a sexual preference either, and I liked it because it’s not what I’m used to and forced me to think a different way. We’re so used to defining ourselves by these things that it’s weird to think of someone who doesn’t have any of these things.

4) Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Image result for saga comic gay couple

I love this comic and what it does to include everyone using aliens as a metaphor. There are several characters that are risking their lives to be with the ones they love, and a gay couple is not the exception.

5)  The 100 (TV Show)

Image result for the 100

 
I think this show does an amazing job with LGBTQ+ characters by allowing them to be who they are without any judgments or second thoughts. In this world being straight, bisexual, gay, or whatever your sexuality might is okay. It is a relief to see a show where it’s not a big deal and the characters can be happy loving whoever they want.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday : Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads

Leave a Reply

