Top 5 Wednesday: Angsty Romance

PROMPT

–This topic has been much requested! Talk about your favorite ships that have a healthy side of angst. (definition: adj.: describes a situation or literary piece which contains dark, depressing, angry, and/or brooding emotions from the participating characters.)

Instead of today’s actual topic about video games, I’m going to talk about a previous topic I missed from last month. And it’s all about aangst… I mean angst.

Image result for angsty aang

I have read my share of angsty books, but my least favorite and most worrisome type is the “angsty romance”. I don’t like it because I hate the trope of using romantic love as a solution to a character’s serious problems. Personally, I think it sends a bad message about getting help and recovery, because recovery should start with the individual not someone else. I’m always hyper aware of it in YA romance, and I’m always happy when they avoid that horrendous cliché. Below are some examples of good angsty romance, and one really bad example.

1. Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

Image result for girl in pieces

I don’t really count this as a romance but there are romantic feelings and actions from really dark brooding characters.

2. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Image result for the problem with forever

This one almost falls into the saved by love trope, but the characters ultimately get better on their own.

3. Fosters (TV Series)

Image result for fosters tv

What can you expect from a show where the premise is a foster home full of teenagers? You’re bound to get all types of angst from friendship, family drama, and of course, love and romance.

4. Hopeless and Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

Related image

I think this might be the most angsty book Hoover has written, but it’s also one of the darkest book she’s written. (Not as dark and terrifying as Too Late, but it comes close)

5. All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Image result for all the ugly and wonderful things

*SIGH* and of course I have to include ATUAWT because Wavy is one of the most angsty characters that I’ve ever read. Unfortunately, she has reason to be that way.

BAD EXAMPLE: Ten Tiny Breaths by K. A. Tucker

Image result for ten tiny breaths

This is a bad example of angsty romance because it’s pure instalove and the guy believes he can cure the protagonist through love. *ewwww* I cringed all the way through. I also think it has every New Adult cliché in it.

*I have reviews for all of the books mentioned in this post.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

