April 2017 Update

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have months where it feels like I didn’t read. But surely I had to read something, didn’t I? It’s what I do, I read. I have a blog, an Instagram account, and pursuing an English degree, all of which concern and influence my reading habits. So why can’t I remember what I read last month?

Thankfully, I have a Goodreads and a personal reading journal that reminds me what I read in April.

Image result for thinking gif

Most of what I did read in April were either graphic novels or short stories, with the exception of Thirteen Reasons Why (which I read in preparation for the Netflix series). Looking back, I didn’t read as much because I was too busy watching series after series on Netlflix.

Books Read in April

  • This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki
  • Saga Volume 7 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples
  • Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  • “Feeders and Eaters” by Neil Gaiman
  • “Singing My Sister Down” by Margo Lanagan
  • We Should All Be Feminists by Chimanda Ngozi Adichie
  • “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang
  • Stories from the Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales
    • “The Frog King”
    • “The Giant and the Tailor”
    • “Sharing Joy and Sorrow”
    • “Sweet Porridge”
    • “The Golden Key”
    • “Tom Thumb

My favorite reads this past month is definitely We Should All Be Feminists because I think it should be read by everyone. It is about feminism and why we need and how to address the problem and make a change for the better moving forward.

My least favorite read was “Singing My Sister Down” because I had no idea what was going on until I talked about it with someone. I thought it was about a weird sacrificial ritual when it was actually about the death penalty. Yeah, I was completely off.

Currently Reading

*I finished reading it before posting this.

Shows & Movies I Watched in April

  • 13 Reasons Why
  • Jo Koy: Live From Seattle
  • The OA
  • Michael Che Matters
  • Trevor Noah: African American
  • Paper Towns
  • Making a Murderer
  • Louis C. K. 2017
  • Passengers
  • Moana
  • Sully
  • Phonebooth
  • The Secret Life of Bees
  • Rock and a Hard Place

My favorite show was 13 Reasons Why and The OA, I can’t choose just one because they were so good for very different reasons, but they both left me wanting more. I can’t wait for the second season of each show. My favorite movie was Passengers because it was just fun to watch even if it’s not the best movie in the world, I would definitely watch it again to pass the time.

I don’t have reviews for most of the things I’ve listed on here, but if you want to talk about something go ahead and let me know, I would love to talk about it…. Especially The OA.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

