Reread, Rewrite, or Recyle #1

This is the Screw, Marry, Kill game for books. Normally, it is “burn” instead of recycle. I changed it because I thought it sounded better… and recycling is good for the environment too! Today, I have 5 rounds of this game featuring some of my favorite books.

Round 1

Slide1

REREAD Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Because Rowell can do no wrong.

REWRITE Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
I would change the ending of this book to a more satisfying end, one that won’t make me want to recycle it.

RECYCLE City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
This was an easy choice for me because looking back now I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I did. I think I felt pressured to liking it because so many people in the bookish community loves it.

ROUND 2

Slide2

REREAD Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I can’t recycle this book but I also can’t rewrite it because the format is so unique and weird that I don’t even want to touch it.

REWRITE All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood
If I had it my way I would reread this book, but I’m making the difficult decision to rewrite it, not because it needs a change, but because I would love to read more about Wavy and Kellen and Donal. I wish I could have so much more than the 300 pages Greenwood gave us initially. Other than that I would leave this book as it is.

RECYLE Everyday by David Levithan
Again, I enjoyed this book but compared to the others on this round, it does not measure up.

ROUND 3

Slide3

REREAD Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino
I loved the love story in this book and how the story was told.

REWRITE Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
The other day I was talking to a friend and we talked about how we both liked Twilight at the time we first read it, but it has it’s problems. One of them being how females were portrayed, and I know Meyer made a point about it with Life and Death, but if I was given Twilight to re rewrite it, then I would try to make it better in that way. #Feminism

RECYLE June by Beverly Miranda Whittemore
This was an easy choice to make simply because I didn’t like it nowhere near as much as I liked the other books on this round.

ROUND 4

Slide4REREAD Girl in Piece by Kathleen Glasgow
I know this is a sad book to reread but even now, months after reading it, when I think about this book it still has the emotional tug on my hear to rip it out and stomp on it, and it makes me cry. Any book with that amount of feelings, should be reread.

REWRITE Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
My only beef with the Hunger Trilogy is the love triangle between Katniss, Gale, and Peeta because it felt forced, so I would go back and delete it all or at most make it more believable.

RECYLE Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
This is another book I liked but didn’t love as much as the other two books in this round.

ROUND 5

Slide5REREAD 1984 by George Orwell
We do not touch this book. We do not rewrite this book. We do not recycle this book. We only read and reread this book.

REWRITE The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
When I first read the book, I hated everyone except Gatsby. I know that’s how I am supposed to feel, but if I could rewrite this classic, then I would make everyone nicer, and Gatsby would get the girl in the end and not die (oops spoilers). That would also mean Leonard DiCaprio wouldn’t die on screen for the hundredth millionth in his movie career. Seriously, I can’t stand seeing this man die over and over again.

RECYCLE The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
The problem with The Problem with Forever is that it has no problem other than some cringe worthy moments, on my part. But I can’t possibly defile the other two books by recycling them.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Reread, Rewrite, or Recyle #1

Leave a Reply

