Review: On Edge by Andrea Petersen

TITLE: On Edge: A Journey Through Anxiety 
AUTHOR: Andrea Petersen
SUMMARY: In this semi memoir and nonfiction book, Andrea Petersen shares her experience living with anxiety disorders while also discussing what experts on the field have to say about it.
GENRE: Nonfiction | Memoir
RATING: 4/5

I decided to read this book because in some way I owed it to myself. Recently I’ve opened up about my experience with anxiety disorders and how important it is to talk about it and receive help. So when I saw this book up on Blogging for Books, I had a strong urge to pick it up and read it.

The first thing I want to say is that this is very different from other nonfiction books I’ve read in the past. While Petersen does share her experiences with anxiety, she also goes in depth with experts and researchers on the field discussing the many statistics and research being done on the topic. She goes back and forth between her personal life and professional world of anxiety research, which forms a nice balance of the two. Not only do you get the medical information but you also get a real personal account from someone.

As someone who almost majored in psychology it was interesting to read about all the research and their findings and see how it all comes together (although some of it went over my head). However, I did like reading more about Petersen’s story because it serves as a reminder that there are people out there struggling with the same things I’ve struggled, and sometimes continue to struggle with.

I appreciate what Petersen has done with this book. It’s difficult to talk about one’s hardships and I love that she was brave enough to put them down in this book. It was surprising to read how many similarities I have with Petersen, and it’s oddly satisfying knowing I’m not alone with my craziness.

Disclosure: I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: On Edge by Andrea Petersen

  1. Pingback: June 2017 Update | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

