May 2017 Update

May was a really bad reading month for me. I had major reading slump. Mostly, because I came back to school for summer school, and as I’ve mentioned before, I’m not good with reading assigned books at the same time as books for fun (I only read books for fun during school when I get lazy with my schoolwork). It’s especially true now that I’m taking a Medieval English Literature class and have to decipher / translate old English to modern English. By the way, Medieval English looks like English but with a bunch of grammar and spelling mistake, made up words, and a very different pronunciation.

britta-bored-reading

I kept trying to get into a reading mood and started several other books but for some reason or the other, they wouldn’t stick. In the end, I finished two assigned readings, and three books for myself, two of which I had started reading last month. That’s a total of five, so I guess it’s not that bad.

Books That I Read

  • The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel (4/5)
  • The Cat King of Havana by Tom Crosshill (4/5)
  • Mandeville’s Travel by Sir John Mandeville (3/5)
  • Maus by Art Spiegelman (4/5)
  • On Edge: A Journey Through Anxiety by Andrea Petersen (4/5)

I may not have read much this May, but I did watch and finish a lot of shows and movies thanks to Netflix, Hulu, and my beloved local library.

Image result for library gif

Looking back, my favorite movie is either Hidden Figures or Joy, I still can’t decide but they both made me tear up. None of which have review and might not get one except for Arrival.  Meanwhile, my least favorite show / movie and biggest disappointment was Cherry Season, a Turkish drama (probably my least favorite Turkish drama EVER too).

Some of the TV Shows & Movies I Watched

  • Angel 
  • Gilmore Girls
  • Kiraz Mevsimi (Cherry Season) 
  • Kevin Hart: What Now?
  • Dave Chapelle (Netflix Special)
  • The Secret Life of Pets
  • The Martian
  • Loving
  • Southside With You
  • Joy
  • Hidden Figures
  • Arrival
  • Sedece Sen (Only You)
  • Bill Nye Saves the World (Netflix Original)

Image result for binge watching gif

Yeah, that was a lot of TV and Movies and that’s not all of it…

As always, I’d love to hear what you read or watched this month, or discuss any of the shows / movies / books I read this movie with you. Let me know in the comments below.

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

