Top 5 Wednesday: Hufflepuff (and some Ravenclaw) Pride

PROMPT

Show your Hogwarts House Pride, and tell us the top 5 books that represent your house!

Years ago I took the sorting hat quiz on Pottermore and I was sorted into Hufflepuff. To be honest, I was surprised I wasn’t sorted into Ravenclaw, but I quickly embraced my new house and still consider myself a Hufflepuff. Then, Pottermore changed the quiz and I took it again and was newly sorted into Ravenclaw. And surprise, surprise, I was upset because I wasn’t placed into the Hufflepuff House. Again, I’ve had to get used to a new house identity. I still haven’t gotten used to it and that’s why on my Bookstagram bio I describe myself as a “HuffleClaw”. The following are some of my favorite books and shows sorted in my houses… by me.

Hufflepuff Traits: hard work, dedication, patience, loyalty, and fair play

Ravenclaw Traits: Intelligence, wit, wisdom, creativity, and originality

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

Related image

This is one of my favorite books and a large part of that love comes from the connection between Wavy and Kellen. It is unconventional and jarring, but strangely it works! There is a loyalty between them that is unmistakable and unbreakable too.

 

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Image result for the great gatsby

Initially, neither intelligence or loyalty are factors that come to mind when I think of Gatsby’s story… until I really think about it. If anything, this is a story about disloyalty! Poor Gatsby has been pining over Daisy Buchanan for years and just when he’s close to finally being with her, he doesn’t. (spoilers sorry). So why do I put this book on this list? Because although it’s more about the disloyalty in Gatsby’s peers, it’s still about loyalty.

 

Hamilton: An American Musical

Image result for hamilton musical

This fabulous musical has both Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw qualities. The story itself is about the American Dream at the start of America’s birth, it involves hard work, dedication, and loyalty to a new nation. Besides, the musical’s posters and logos already have the Hufflepuff colors.

I will also say that some of the characters can be easily identified as Ravenclaws, like Alexander Hamilton. He is clearly defined by his intelligence and thirst for knowledge.

 

Big Bang Theory (TV Show)

Image result for big bang theory

Do I really have to explain this one? Everyone on this show values knowledge, and they’re all unique in their own way. Besides, I have a feeling Sheldon would shun me if I didn’t place him Ravenclaw.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Image result for the hunger games

Normally, I would place this trilogy in Gryffindor. After all, Katniss is very brave, daring, and courageous, but all of these traits begin with her loyalty to her sister. If it weren’t for her immense loyalty to her sister, she would have never had the courage to step up and take her place. I would also say she is patient, determine, and intelligent inside the arena… sometimes. Other times, she’s pretty dumb.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Hufflepuff (and some Ravenclaw) Pride

  1. I’m kind of in the same boat as you when it comes to Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff. This idea was a little tough for me, considering that when I first took the Pottermore Sorting Hat test, I got sorted into Ravenclaw, which I loved. But then when the test got updated, I was sorted into Hufflepuff, which was….interesting. I don’t know a lot about them besides them being fiercely loyal, patient, kind, hard-working, and dedicated. Oh, and Cedric Diggory is (was?) in the house too, so that’s a bonus!

    My post: http://poemsbyayoungartist.blogspot.com/2017/06/t5w-top-5-wednesday-books-for.html#more

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

