Review: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

TITLE: Fahrenheit 451 Image result for fahrenheit 451
AUTHOR: Ray Bradbury
SUMMARY: In this world firefighters burn books because books and intellectual thought are illegal.
GENRE: Dystopia | Classic | Science Fiction
RATING: 4/5

Ever since I read 1984 I’ve been wanting to read more dystopias, and I don’t mean all the dystopian trilogies from a couple years back. I mean the classics like Catch-22 and Brave New World. Eventually, I got around to it by reading Fahrenheit by Ray Bradbury.

I want to say the writing is experimental, but maybe I’m wrong. The writing is definitely different, and a bit distracting, but it works for the story. It created this anxious tone that comes with the world Bradbury made in this novel. However, I think it’s just his style because it reminded me of his short story, “The Crowd”. Both of these works have lists of things that go in all directions, and made me lose count several times. I even had to go back a couple of time to re-read certain paragraphs.

gif-cat-as-speed-reader1

What I love about dystopian books is how they highlight a problem or problems from our current world and magnify it a 100x in the story. Fahrenheit 451 is no different because it’s about censoring literature for fear that people will get upset by the content. I know it sounds corny, but it does show the importance of literature, ideology, and thought to society. Fortunately, the protagonist slowly realizes this throughout his story.

On a side note, this book is like a horror story for bibliophiles. They burn entire libraries! The Horror!

Image result for the horror gif

As I read this I couldn’t help but think of how the population were mindless zombies who fed on everything the media gave them. Some of the conversations people had about life in general were horrifying because it was so different from what I think and it was clear that they were brainwashed in some manner. Although their world is completely different from ours, I couldn’t help but think of how much power the media has over our lives just as it does in the novel.

So yes, go read it!

giphy

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

  1. Pingback: June 2017 Update | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

